News Nation Logo


After boycott by India and 4 other nations, Pakistan postpones SAARC Summit in Islamabad

Hours After Sri Lanka Joined India And 3 Other Countries In Boycotting The 19th SAARC Summit In Islamabad, Pakistan Finally Announced That The Summit Has Been Postponed.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Bindiya Bhatt | Updated on: 30 Sep 2016, 08:54:16 PM
Narendra Modi and Nawaz Sharif

New Delhi:

Hours after Sri Lanka joined India and 3 other countries in boycotting the 19th SAARC Summit in Islamabad, Pakistan finally announced that the summit has been postponed. A statement from Pakistan Ministry of Foreign Affairs said that a new set of dates for holding of the 19th SAARC Summit at Islamabad will be announced soon.

“Decision by India to derail Summit effectively contradicts Prime Minister Modi’s own call to fight against poverty in the region,” Pakistan MOFA said.

Earlier on Friday, in yet another setback to Pakistan, Sri Lanka pulled out of 19th SAARC Summit in Islamabad joining India and three other nations who had expressed their inability to participate in the summit.

ALSO READ | Pakistan stands isolated as Sri Lanka joins India, 3 other nations to boycott SAARC summit in Islamabad

“Sri Lanka regrets that the prevailing environment in the region is not conducive for holding the 19th SAARC Summit in Islamabad,” the Foreign Ministry said in a statement here.

The General Provisions of the SAARC Charter require that decisions at all levels shall be taken on the basis of unanimity, and this applies to the convening of meetings of Heads of State or Government of SAARC Member States as well, it said in the brief statement.

ALSO READ | SAARC summit in Pakistan called off as India, Bhutan, Bangaldesh and Afghanistan opt out

Besides India, three other SAARC members - Bangladesh, Bhutan and Afghanistan - have pulled out of the summit, indirectly blaming Pakistan for creating an environment which is not right for the successful holding of the meet.

ALSO READ | J&K CM Mehbooba Mufti justifies PM Narendra Modi's decision not to attend SAARC summit in Pakistan

That development came after tensions ran high between India and Pakistan after militants stormed an Indian Army base in Uri on September 18, killing 18 soldiers. The militants belonged to Pakistan-based Jaish-e-Mohammad terrorist group.

Founded in 1985, South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) currently has Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka as its Members.

ALSO READ | PM Narendra Modi to skip SAARC summit in Islamabad, Pakistan calls it 'unfortunate'

(With inputs from agencies)

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 30 Sep 2016, 08:42:00 PM