News Nation Logo

YSRCP chief Jaganmohan Reddy invited to form next government in Andhra Pradesh

A Meeting Between Reddy And Prime Minister Narendra Modi Is Also Scheduled For Sunday, May 26.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 25 May 2019, 10:21:27 PM
YSRCP chief Jaganmohan Reddy meets Governor ESL Narasimhan and Telangana Chief Minister KCR (Photo Source: Twitter)

New Delhi:

After a thumping win in both Assembly and Lok Sabha polls in Andhra Pradesh, YSRCP chief Jagan Mohan Reddy on Saturday met Governor ESL Narasimhan, staking claim to form the next government in the state. Reddy also called on Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao at his official residence - Pragati Bhavan, where he would stay for the night.

Narasimhan invited Reddy to form the next government in Andhra Pradesh hours after he was elected leader of the YSRC legislature party early in the day. The newly elected MLAs at the YSR Congress office in Vijayawada adopted a resolution, electing Reddy as the legislature party leader. Reddy’s swearing-in ceremony would be held at Indira Gandhi Municipal Corporation stadium, Vijayawada, on May 30 at 12.23 pm, a Raj Bhavan communique said.

Earlier in the day, the 14th Andhra Pradesh legislative assembly was dissolved after a notification was issued in this regard by the Governor. "In exercise of the powers conferred by Clause (2) (b) of Article 172 of the Constititution of India, ESL Narasimhan, Governor of Andhra Pradesh, on the advice of the Council of Minister, hereby dissolve the fourteenth legislative assembly with immedite effect," the notification reads.

A meeting between Reddy and Prime Minister Narendra Modi is also scheduled for Sunday, May 26. The meeting assumes importance as the YSRCP chief during the election campaign had said his party would support whoever promises Andhra Pradesh the Special Category Status.

In a spectacular performance, Reddy, son of late Chief Minister YS Rajasekhara Reddy, led his YSR Congress to a landslide victory, winning 151 of 175 Assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh, the elections for which were held on April 11.

While the TDP headed by N Chandrababu Naidu got 23 seats, the Janasena party had won only one seat. Naidu submitted his resignation as Andhra Pradesh chief minister following his massive defeat in this Assembly election.

Talking about the Lok Sabha elctions in Andhra Pradesh, the YSRC had bagged 22 of the 25 seats while the TDP managed to get only three seats.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Andhra Pradesh Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 May 2019, 10:21:27 PM