News Nation Logo

50 People Responsible For ‘Delhi Nirman’ To Share Stage With Kejriwal In His Oath-Taking Event

Around 50 People From Different Walks Of Life Who Are Responsible For 'Delhi Nirman' Will Share Stage With Arvind Kejriwal During His Swearing-in Ceremony On Sunday, AAP Leader Manish Sisodia Said.

PTI | Updated on: 15 Feb 2020, 02:59:07 PM
Arvind Kejriwal

50 People Responsible For Delhi Nirman To Share Stage With Kejriwal For Sunday Event (Image: Arvind Kejriwal) (Photo Credit: Twitter/@ArvindKejriwal)

New Delhi:

Around 50 people from different walks of life who are responsible for 'Delhi nirman' will share stage with Arvind Kejriwal during his swearing-in ceremony on Sunday, AAP leader Manish Sisodia said. He said these 50 people would include teachers, bus marshalls, architects of the Signature Bridge and family of firefighters who lost their lives, among others.

Aam Aadmi Party has invited Prime Minister Narendra Modi for Arvind Kejriwal’s swearing-in ceremony. The grand oath-taking ceremony will take place at iconic Ramlila Maidan. Kejriwal met Lt Governor Anil Baijal on Wednesday morning to discuss the February 16 event. Kejriwal will take oath as Delhi Chief Minister for the third time on February 16.

With this, Kejriwal equals Sheila Dikshit’s feat. The Congress stalwart was the only politician, who took oath as Delhi Chief Minister for three times. While the detractors say that the announcement of freebies just before the Assembly Elections helped the Aam Aadmi Party, Kejriwal said that his return was victory of development agenda. The engineer-turned-politician has become the force to reckon with in Delhi. However, AAP’s national aspirations have met with little success.

Also Read: PM Modi To soon Inaugurate 'Kashi Ek Roop Anek' Exhibition In Varanasi

On Tuesday, Kejriwal won New Delhi assembly seat by a margin of 21, 697 votes. Kejriwal defeated BJP's Sunil Yadav to become MLA for the third consecutive time from the New Delhi seat. Kejriwal got 46, 758 votes while Sunil Yadav got 25, 061 votes. Indian National Congress's Romesh Sabharwal remained at distant third with just 3,206 votes, according to Election Commission data. Whereas, the AAP won 62 seats in the 70-member Delhi Assembly, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagged the remaining eight seats. The Congress drew a blank for the second consecutive time.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 15 Feb 2020, 02:59:07 PM