News Nation Logo

After Stellar Poll Victory, Arvind Kejriwal To Take Oath As Delhi Chief Minister On February 16 At Ramlila Maidan

Arvind Kejriwal Met Lt Governor Anil Baijal On Wednesday Morning To Discuss The February 16 Event.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 12 Feb 2020, 11:48:32 AM
Arvind Kejriwal

Arvind Kejriwal won New Delhi assembly seat by a margin of 21, 697 votes. (Photo Credit: AAP/Twitter)

New Delhi:

Delhi Assembly Election Results 2020: After registering thumping victory in the polls, Aam Aadmi Party’s national convenor Arvind Kejriwal will take oath as Delhi Chief Minister on February 16. Sources say that a grand swearing-in ceremony will take place at Delhi’s iconic Ramlila Maidan, which is located in the heart of National Capital. The ceremony is being seen as stage to showcase the Opposition unity. From interim Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, her son and Wayanad MP Rahul Gandhi to Trinamool Congress president and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, the Aam Aadmi Party is likely to invite almost all political bigwigs. Though it has not been confirmed yet, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah are likely to get an invitation for the February 16 ceremony.

Also Read: I Love You, Delhi, Thank You For Trusting Me As Your Son, Says Kejriwal In Emotional Victory Speech

Kejriwal met Lt Governor Anil Baijal on Wednesday morning to discuss the February 16 event. Kejriwal will take oath as Delhi Chief Minister for the third time on February 16. With this, Kejriwal equals Sheila Dikshit’s feat. The Congress stalwart was the only politician, who took oath as Delhi Chief Minister for three times. While the detractors say that the announcement of freebies just before the Assembly Elections helped the Aam Aadmi Party, Kejriwal said that his return was victory of development agenda. The engineer-turned-politician has become the force to reckon with in Delhi. However, AAP’s national aspirations have met with little success.

On Tuesday, Kejriwal won New Delhi assembly seat by a margin of 21, 697 votes. Kejriwal defeated BJP's Sunil Yadav to become MLA for the third consecutive time from the New Delhi seat. Kejriwal got 46, 758 votes while Sunil Yadav got 25, 061 votes. Indian National Congress's Romesh Sabharwal remained at distant third with just 3,206 votes, according to Election Commission data. Interestingly, this VVIP constituency saw a maximum number of candidates contesting the polls. Apart from Kejriwal, 27 other candidates contested from New Delhi seat.

Also Read: Double Treat For Kejriwals! Hubby Arvind Celebrates Wife Sunita's Birthday As AAP Wins Delhi

In the 2015 Assembly elections also, Kejriwal had emerged victorious from the New Delhi Vidhan Sabha seat. He had defeated BJP's Nupur Sharma by a margin of more than 31,000 votes.  Nine years ago, Kejriwal slipped into the political frame behind Anna Hazare during the Lokpal movement in 2011 before quickly enlarging his canvas, first as a satyagrah activist and then as founder of the cleverly named Aam Aadmi Party that took on the might of the BJP to reclaim Delhi for a third time on Tuesday. The name of his party as carefully chosen as his public persona perhaps, Delhi's 51-year-old chief minister is the embodiment of the everyday man but one who has tailored his politics and campaign in keeping with the times.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 12 Feb 2020, 10:41:05 AM