News Nation Logo

Vikaspuri Assembly Constituency Result: AAP's Mahinder Yadav Registers Massive Victory

AAP's Mahinder Yadav Won Against BJP's Sanjay Singh By A Massive Margin Of 42058 Votes, According To The Official Election Commission Data.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 11 Feb 2020, 07:44:22 PM
AAP Vikaspuri candidate Mahinder Yadav

AAP Vikaspuri candidate Mahinder Yadav (Photo Credit: Twitter)

New Delhi:

Aam Aadmi Party's Mahinder Yadav on Tuesday cruised to a massive victory against BJP's Sanjay Singh from Vikaspuri constituency in the February 8 Delhi Assembly elections. Yadav, who was the sitting MLA from Vikaspuri, retained his seat and defeated his BJP rival by a margin of 42058 votes. The voting in the Vikaspuri constituecy was held along with the 69 other constituencies of Delhi on February 8. Counting of votes polled in the high-stakes Delhi Assembly election began on Tuesday morning amid tight security at various centres set up to carry out the exercise.

The Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party is on course for a resounding victory in the Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 to retain power for a third term on Tuesday. The AAP was leading in 63 seats, the BJP in seven constituencies while the Congress drew a blank in the 70-member assembly, according to the latest tally.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) workers went into celebratory mode at the party headquarters on Tuesday as trends showed the party was set for a massive victory. A total of 672 candidates, including 593 men and 79 women, were in the fray for the hotly contested, often divisive polls with the anti-CAA protests in Shaheen Bagh occupying centrestage towards the end of the campaign.

The elections in the national capital took place in the midst of massive protests in the city and elsewhere over the new citizenship law, the National Register of Citizens and the National Population Register.

The BJP faced charges of carrying out a "divisive" campaign to polarise the voters by consistently highlighting the over 50-day demonstration by a group of women in Shaheen Bagh area. While BJP's campaign focused on national security issues, the AAP mainly focused on its achievements in the fields of education, healthcare and infrastructure.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Feb 2020, 07:44:22 PM