News Nation Logo

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: AAP’s Abdul Rehman Wins Seelampur Seat

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 – Seelampur Constituency: Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) Abdul Rehman Won The Seelampur Constituency.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 11 Feb 2020, 03:53:30 PM
Delhi Assembly Elections 2020

AAP’s Abdul Rehman won Seelampur Assembly seat (Photo Credit: Facebook)

New Delhi:

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 – Seelampur Constituency: Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) Abdul Rehman won the Seelampur Constituency. With the margin of 36,920 votes, Abdul Rehman defeated Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) candidate Kaushal Kumar Mishra.

In the Seelampur Assembly seat, the candidates contesting are Mohd Afzal (BSP), Abdul Rehman (AAP), Kaushal Kumar Mishra (BJP), Chaudhary Mateen Ahmad (INC), Rahisuddin Ahmad (BMP), Sukhdeb Singh Singh (RJP). Counting of the votes for the Delhi Assembly elections 2020 began today at 8 AM.

The voting for all 70-seats of Delhi's Legislative Assembly elections was held on Saturday. Delhi witnessed a three-cornered contest between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress.

In the Seelampur Assembly, there were a total of 1,81,721 eligible electors, of which 97,213 were male, 84,505 female and 3 voters of the third gender. The electorate gender ratio in Seelampur in 2020 is 869.28. Among the first-time voters in 2020 in Seelampur, there are a total of 3280 voters in the 18-19 years age group. 

With 71.22 per cent, Seelampur registered the highest voter turnout in the 2020 Delhi Assembly elections.

It is to be noted that Seelampur Assembly seat has an estimated Scheduled Caste population of 8.15 per cent. The estimated literacy level of the district in which this constituency falls in is 83.1 per cent.

Past winners/MLAs:

In the 2015 Delhi Assembly elections, AAP's Mohd Ishraque  won this seat by defeating BJP's Sanjay Jain.

In 2013, Chaudhary Mateen Ahmad of Congress won this seat defeating BJP's Kaushal Kumar Mishra.

Also Read: Live Delhi Election 2020 Results: Arvind Kejriwal Back With Huge Majority As AAP Sweeps Polls Again

In the 2008 Assembly elections, Chaudhary Mateen Ahmad of INC won this seat defeating BJP's Aita Ram Gupta. 

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Feb 2020, 02:38:17 PM