News Nation Logo

Delhi Assembly Elections: AAP’s Ajesh Yadav Wins Badli Seat, Defeats BJP's Vijay Kumar Bhagat

Badli Is A Suburban Assembly Seat That Comes Under The North West Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 12 Feb 2020, 12:08:39 AM
Delhi Assembly Elections 2020

AAP’s Ajesh Yadav. (Photo Credit: Facebook)

New Delhi:

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 –Badli Constituency: Ajesh Yadav of the AAP won the Badli seat in the Delhi assembly polls. Ajesh Yadav defeated BJP's Vijay Kumar Bhagat by 29,123 votes. Badli is a suburban assembly seat that comes under the North West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. The constituency had 2,23,235 registered voters in 2015. In 2015 elections Ajesh Yadav (AAP) had won the seat with a margin of 35,376 votes.

Counting of the votes for the Delhi Assembly elections 2020 began at 8 am. The voting for all 70-seats of Delhi's Legislative Assembly elections was held on Saturday. Delhi witnessed a three-cornered contest between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. The North West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency consists of 10 Vidhan Sabha segments or seats including Rohini, Narela, Rithala, Mundka, Mangolpuri, Kirari, Bawana, Nangloi Jat, Badli, and Sultanpur Majra. 

It is to be noted that Badli Assembly seat is one of the only four seats in which the Congress came in second in the 2015 Assembly elections. Congress had won zero seats in 2015. Badli Assembly seat has an estimated Scheduled Caste population of 19.03 per cent. The estimated literacy level of the district in which this constituency falls in is 84.4 per cent.

In the Badli Assembly, there were a total of 2,19,871 eligible electors, of which 1,24,722 were male, 95,124 female and 25 voters of the third gender. The electorate gender ratio in Badli in 2020 is 762.69. Among the first-time voters in 2020 in Badli, there are a total of 3883 voters in the 18-19 years age group.

Past winners/MLAs:

In the 2015 Delhi Assembly elections, AAP's Ajesh Yadav won this seat by defeating Devender Yadav of Congress.

In 2013, Devender Yadav of Congress won this seat defeating BJP's Vijay Kumar Bhagat. 

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: AAP Leads On 6 Seats, BJP Ahead On 4 In North East Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency

In the 2008 Assembly elections, Devender Yadav of Congress won this seat defeating Ajesh Yadav of BSP.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Feb 2020, 01:29:00 PM