News Nation Logo


Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: All You Need To Know About Gandhi Nagar Constituency

In The 2015's Assembly Elections, The AAP Registered A Massive Victory With Arvind Kejriwal Becoming The Chief Minister For The Second Time.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 08 Feb 2020, 12:45:57 PM
Delhi Assembly Polls

Gandhi Nagar Constituency (Photo Credit: Creative)

New Delhi:

With the Delhi Assembly polls inching closer, all the major political players are bracing themselves to put up a tough fight. The ruling Aam Admi Party (AAP) is banking on the work it has done in the last five years in the field of education, health and infrastructure development, forcing its main opponent BJP to give equal space to these issues. The AAP is vouching on several measures it has taken during its rule including the improvement in the functioning of the government schools, mohalla clinics for affordable health facilities, efforts made to improve the traffic and pollution situation in the capital, free or cheap power and clean drinking water. Delhi is all set to cast its ballot on February 8. The date was earlier announced by the Election Commission of India. According to the ECI, the results will be announced on February 11. In the last Delhi Legislative Assembly Elections, the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won a landmark victory after it secured 67 of the total 70 seats in the state legislature. With close to 1.5 crore eligible voters, Delhi will witness a three-cornered contest between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. In the 70-member Delhi Legislative Assembly, there are several key constituencies including Patparganj which will be watched closely by political analysts.

In the 2015's Assembly elections, the AAP registered a massive victory with Arvind Kejriwal becoming the Chief Minister for the second time. The remaining three seats namely Rohini, Vishwas Nagar, and Mustafabad were won by the BJP. Whereas, the Congress was reduced to zero.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Date And Result

As per the schedule released by the Election Commission, voting for all 70 seats will be held on February 8, 2020. The result will be announced after votes are counted on February 11. The term of the current Assembly elected in 2015 will expire on February 22, 2020.

Gandhi Nagar Assembly Constituency: Total Number Of Voters

As per the information available from the Election Commission in 2015, there were 1,12,603 eligible voters who cast their ballot in the Gandhi Nagar Assembly constituency.

Gandhi Nagar Assembly Constituency: Candidates

Naveen Choudhary of AAP will contest the Assembly elections against BJP candidate Anil Bajpai (who was earlier with the AAP), and Congress' Arvinder Singh Lovely. In the list announced by the party. Some of the rebel AAP MLAs also found space in the BJP list with Anil Bajpai to contest polls from Gandhi Nagar and Kapil Mishra was fielded from Model Town. Two other leaders who joined the BJP from the AAP — suspended Bijwasan MLA Devender Sehrawat and Guggan Singh — did not make the cut.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah

Gandhi Nagar Assembly Constituency: Key Issues

Like many other constituencies in Delhi, Gandhi Nagar also faces the problem of water-logging every year during the rainy season. During our research, we found the people of Gandhi Nagar constituency want a party in power who can take care of their day-to-day-problems such as narrow lanes, illegal colonies, traffic jams, sewer lines among others.

Delhi Assembly Elections Elections 2015: Gandhi Nagar

In the 2015 Delhi Assembly Elections, Anil Kumar Bajpai (who was with the AAP) got 50,946 votes and won the Gandhi Nagar seat. He defeated BJP's Jitender, who got 43,464 votes and Congress' Surender Prakash Sharma (16,228 votes).

Delhi Assembly Elections 2013: Gandhi Nagar

With 48,897 votes, Congress' Arvinder Singh Lovely won the Gandhi Nagar Assembly seat in the 2013 state elections. He defeated BJP's Ramesh Chand Jain. Jain got 31,936 votes. Aam Aadmi Party’s Anil Kumar Bajpai secured 16,546 votes.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi

Delhi Assembly Elections 2008: Gandhi Nagar

With 59,795 votes, Congress leader Arvinder Singh Lovely won the Gandhi Nagar Assembly seat in the 2008 state elections. He defeated BJP's Kamal Kumar Jain who got 27,870.

Gandhi Nagar 1993, 1998 And 2003 Assembly Elections Results

In 2003 polls, Congress leader Arvinder Singh Lovely (35,791 votes) won the seat by defeating BJP's Tarjeet Singh (11,806 votes). In 1998, Congress leader Arvinder Singh Lovely (21,905) had won the seat by defeating BJP's Swinderjit Singh Bajwa (15,143). In 1993 elections, BJP leader Darshan Kumar Bahl had won the seat beating Congress' Pyare Lal Ghee Waley.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Jan 2020, 05:13:24 PM