News Nation Logo


Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: All You Need To Know About Patparganj Constituency

According To The ECI, The Results Will Be Announced On February 11. In The Last Delhi Legislative Assembly Elections, The Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Won A Landmark Victory After It Secured 67 Of The Total 70 Seats In The State Legislature.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 08 Feb 2020, 12:45:47 PM

Delhi Assembly Polls 2020 (Photo Credit: Creative)

New Delhi:

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 - Patparganj Constituency: Delhi is all set to cast its ballot on February 8. The date was earlier announced by the Election Commission of India. According to the ECI, the results will be announced on February 11. In the last Delhi Legislative Assembly Elections, the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won a landmark victory after it secured 67 of the total 70 seats in the state legislature. With close to 1.5 crore eligible voters, Delhi will witness a three-cornered contest between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. In the 70-member Delhi Legislative Assembly, there are several key constituencies including Patparganj which will be watched closely by political analysts. The Patparganj Assembly seat comes under the East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. In the last election held in 2015, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate Manish Sisodia had won the seat. In 2013 also Manish Sisodia registered a landslide victory and prior to that in 2008, Congress had won the seat and Anil Kumar was elected as the MLA.

In the 2015's Assembly elections, the AAP registered a landslide victory, bagging 67 of 70 Assembly seats, with Arvind Kejriwal becoming the Chief Minister for the second time. The remaining three seats namely Rohini, Vishwas Nagar, and Mustafabad were won by the BJP. Whereas, the Congress was reduced to zero seat.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Date And Result

As per the schedule released by the Election Commission, voting for all 70 seats will be held on February 8, 2020. The result will be announced after votes are counted on February 11. The term of the current Assembly elected in 2015 will expire on February 22, 2020.

Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia

Patparganj Assembly Constituency: Total Number Of Voters

As per the information available from the Election Commission in 2015, there were 1,40,875 eligible voters who cast their ballot in the Patparganj Assembly constituency.

Patparganj Assembly Constituency: Candidates

Manish Sisodia, a sitting MLA from AAP, will contest the Assembly elections against BJP candidate Ravi Negi, and Congress' Laxman Ravat. The value of movable assets of Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia, who filed his nomination papers for the February 8 Assembly polls, has declined by Rs 17,736. While his self-acquired immovable properties remained roughly the same as in 2015, worth of his wife's properties increased from Rs 8.70 lakh in 2015 to Rs 65 lakh in 2020.

Patparganj Assembly Constituency: Key Issues

Various political parties are raising the issues of nationalism, unemployment, inflation and other issues for Delhi's Legislative Assembly Elections. However, the residents of Patparganj Assembly Constituency insist that they need someone who takes care of their day-to-day problems including narrow lanes, illegal colonies, traffic jams, sewer lines, and water-logging, among others.

Delhi Assembly Elections Elections 2015: Patparganj

In the 2015 Delhi Assembly Elections, Manish Sisodia got 75,477 votes and won the Patpargunj seat. He defeated BJP's Vinod Kumar Binny, who got 46,716 votes and Congress' Anil Kumar who secured 16,260 votes.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2013: Patparganj

With 50,211 votes, AAP's Manish Sisodia won the Patparganj Assembly seat in the 2013 state elections. He defeated BJP candidate Nakul Bhardwaj. Bhardwaj got 38,735 votes. Congress sitting MLA Anil Kumar secured 28,067.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2008: Patparganj

With 36,984 votes, Congress leader Anil Kumar won the Patparganj Assembly seat in the 2008 state elections. He defeated BJP's Nakul Bhardwaj. Bharadwaj got 36,336 votes.

Patparganj 1993, 1998 And 2003 Assembly Elections Results

In 2003, Congress leader Amrish Singh Gautam (36,930 votes) won the seat by defeating BJP's Gian Chand (18,932 votes). In 1998, Congress leader Amrish Singh Gautam (33,351) had won the seat by defeating BJP's Ganga Ram Pipal (17,030). In the 1993 elections, BJP leader Gyan Chand had won the seat beating Amrish Singh Gautam, who was in Janata Dal then.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Jan 2020, 08:54:47 PM