News Nation Logo

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: BJP’s Ajay Mahawar Wins Ghonda Seat

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 – Ghonda Constituency: Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) Ajay Mahawar Defeated Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) Shridutt Sharma.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 11 Feb 2020, 05:41:42 PM
Delhi Assembly Elections 2020

BJP’s Ajay Mahawar wins Ghonda Seat (Photo Credit: File Photo - PTI Image)

New Delhi:

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 – Ghonda Constituency: Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) Ajay Mahawar defeated Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) Shridutt Sharma. Ajay Mahawar defeated Shridutt Sharma by a margin of 28,370 votes. 

In the Ghonda Assembly seat, the candidates contesting were Ajay Mahawar (BJP), Bhisham Sharma (INC), Shridutt Sharma (AAP), Anil Singh (SLSP), Avni Dhilwal (NYP), Dr Tejpal (RRC), Bimlesh Kumar Sharma (SBP), Manish Kumar (MKVP), Man Singh (JKP), Reema (RJP), KP Rangari (PPID), Harish (IND). Counting of the votes for the Delhi Assembly elections 2020 began today at 8 AM.

The voting for all 70-seats of Delhi's Legislative Assembly elections was held on Saturday. Delhi witnessed a three-cornered contest between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. 

In the Ghonda Assembly, there were a total of 2,22,280 eligible electors, of which 1,21,205 were male, 1,01,075 female and 0 voters of the third gender. The electorate gender ratio in Ghonda in 2020 is 833.92. Among the first-time voters in 2020 in Ghonda, there are a total of 3378 voters in the 18-19 years age group.

It is to be noted that Ghonda Assembly seat has an estimated Scheduled Caste population of 12.85 per cent. The estimated literacy level of the district in which this constituency falls in is 83.1 per cent.

Past winners/MLAs:

In the 2015 Delhi Assembly elections, AAP's Shri Dutt Sharma won this seat by defeating Sahab Singh Chauhan of BJP.

In 2013, BJP's Sahab Singh Chauhan won this seat defeating Bhisham Sharma of Congress.

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Elections: All You Need To Know About Karawal Nagar Constituency

In the 2008 Assembly elections, BJP's Sahab Singh Chauhan won this seat defeating Bheeshma Sharma of Congress.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Feb 2020, 02:22:18 PM