News Nation Logo

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: BJP’s Mohan Singh Bisht Wins Karawal Nagar Seat

The Results Of The Delhi Vidhan Sabha Polls Were Announced On February 11 By The Election Commission Of India, Stating That AAP Won In 62 Constituencies, While BJP Secured Victory In Eight Seats.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 12 Feb 2020, 12:01:31 AM
Delhi Assembly Elections 2020

BJP’s Mohan Singh Bisht. (Photo Credit: File Photo)

New Delhi:

Karawal Nagar Assembly seat: Bharatiya Janata Party's Mohan Singh Bisht won from the Karawal Nagar Assembly seat in Delhi, whose polling took place on February 8, along with the rest of 69 Vidhan Sabha constituencies. The results of the Delhi Vidhan Sabha polls were announced on February 11 by the Election Commission of India, stating that AAP won in 62 constituencies, while BJP secured victory in eight seats. This time too, Congress failed to open its account. 

Delhi witnessed a three-cornered contest between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. The North East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency consists of 10 Vidhan Sabha segments or seats including Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Seelampur, Seemapuri, Burari, Timarpur, Mustafabad, Rohtas Nagar, Gokalpur, and Babarpur. 

It is to be noted that Karawal Nagar Assembly seat has an estimated Scheduled Caste population of 8.47 per cent. The estimated literacy level of the district in which this constituency falls in is 83.1 per cent.

In the Karawal Nagar Assembly, there were a total of 2,83,060 eligible electors, of which 1,58,591 were male, 1,24,456 female and 13 voters of the third gender. The electorate gender ratio in Karawal Nagar in 2020 is 784.76. Among the first-time voters in 2020 in Karawal Nagar, there are a total of 4715 voters in the 18-19 years age group.

Past winners/MLAs:

In the 2015 Delhi Assembly elections, AAP's Kapil Mishra won this seat by defeating Mohan Singh Bisht of BJP.

In 2013, BJP's Mohan Singh Bisht in this seat defeating AAP's Kapil Mishra.

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: AAP Leads On 7 Seats In North West Delhi, BJP Ahead On 3

In the 2008 Assembly elections, Mohan Singh Bisht of BJP won in this seat defeating Satan Pal Dayma of IND.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Feb 2020, 02:09:16 PM