News Nation Logo


Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Greater Kailash Constituency Profile

Greater Kailash Assembly Constituency Was Created In 2008 And Vijay Kumar Malhotra Of The BJP Won The Seat In The Assembly Polls Later That Year.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 28 Jan 2020, 05:14:25 PM
AAP's Saurabh Bharadwaj and BJP leader Shikha Rai

Greater Kailash will see direct contest between AAP MLA Saurabh Bharadwaj and BJP's Shikha Rai. (Photo Credit: File)

New Delhi:

The elections for the 70-member Delhi Legislative Assembly will be held on February 8 with the ruling Aam Aadmi Party in direct contest with the BJP and the Congress. Although it is being dubbed as a three-way contest, the AAP and the BJP are the two main challengers eying the Chief Minister's post. The Congress, on the other hand, would be hoping to regain the lost ground. The situation is no different in Greater Kailash, home to some of the most affluent families of Delhi. Sitting AAP MLA Saurabh Bharadwaj is seeking re-election from the constituency. The BJP has fielded Shikha Rai, while Sukhbir Singh Pawar is the candidate from the Congress party.

The Assembly constituency was created in 2008 and Vijay Kumar Malhotra of the BJP won the seat in the Assembly polls later that year. He had defeated Congress party’s Jitender Kumar Kocher by a margin of 11,219‬ votes. However, the birth of Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) ruined the BJP’s game in Greater Kailash constituency. In the 2013 Assembly Elections, AAP’s Saurabh Bharadwaj defeated BJP’s Ajay Kumar Malhotra by 13,092 votes. In the next elections in 2015, Bharadwaj once again won the seat. In 2008, the Congress was the runner-up but after the emergence of the AAP, the Grand-Old-Party lost its ground and relevance.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2015: Greater Kailash Results

AAP: Saurabh Bharadwaj - 57,589 votes

BJP: Rakesh Kumar Gullaiya - 43,006 votes

Congress: Sharmistha Mukherjee - 6,102 votes

Delhi Assembly Elections 2013: Greater Kailash Results

AAP: Saurabh Bhardwaj - 43,097 votes

BJP: Ajay Kumar Malhotra - 30,005 votes

Congress: Virender Kasana - 19,714 votes

Delhi Assembly Elections 2008: Greater Kailash Results

BJP: Vijay Kumar Malhotra - 42,206 Votes

Congress: Jitender Kumar Kocher - 30,987 Votes

When Will Elections Be Held In Greater Kailash?

As per the schedule released by the Election Commission, voting for all 70 seats, including Greater Kailash, will be held on February 8, 2020. The result will be announced after votes are counted on February 11. The term of the current Assembly elected in 2015 will expire on February 22, 2020. RELATED

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 28 Jan 2020, 05:14:25 PM