News Nation Logo


Delhi Assembly Elections: All You Need To Know About Okhla Constituency

Okhla Is A Muslim Majority Constituency And Has Elected MLAs From Various Political Parties Like The RJD, The Congress, The Janata Dal And The AAP.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 08 Feb 2020, 12:46:20 PM
Delhi Assembly

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Know Your Okhla Constituency (Photo Credit: News Nation)

New Delhi :

The Election Commission of India has announced dates for much-anticipated Delhi Assembly Elections and according to the schedule, people will exercise their franchise on February 8. The results for the Delhi Assembly polls will be announced on February 11. With close to 1.5 crore eligible voters, Delhi will witness a three-cornered contest between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. There are several key constituencies, including Okhla. It is one of 10 constituencies that together make up the East Delhi Lok Sabha seat. The other Assembly constituencies are Jangpura, Trilokpuri, Kondli, Patparganj, Laxmi Nagar, Vishwas Nagar, Krishna Nagar, Gandhi Nagar, and Shahdara. The current Member of Parliament from East Delhi is BJP's Gautam Gambhir. Aam Aadmi Party's Amanatullah Khan is the current MLA from the Okhla Assembly seat.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Date And Result
As per the schedule released by the Election Commission, voting for all 70 seats will be held on February 8, 2020. The result will be announced after votes are counted on February 11. The term of the current Assembly elected in 2015 will expire on February 22, 2020.

Okhla Constituency: Total Number Of Voters
As per the information available from the official website of the Election Commission in 2019, there were 3,10,389 (Male Voters: 1,87,140 and Female Voters: 1,23,138) eligible voters in the Okhla constituency.  

Okhla Constituency Issues
Okhla is a Muslim majority constituency and has elected MLAs from various political parties like the RJD, the Congress, the Janata Dal and the AAP. The constituency lacks basic amenities like potable water, sewerage system. According to residents of the area, water pipes have been installed in some areas by the AAP government but the water supply is not smooth. The other major issue is of waterlogging during the rainy season.

Okhla Constituency: Candidates For 2020

In the 2020 Delhi Assembly election, the key candidates in the Okhla constituency are Braham Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Amanatullah Khan of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Parvez Hashmi of the Indian National Congress.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2015: Okhla Assembly
In the 2015 Delhi Assembly Elections, AAP's Amanatullah Khan got 62.57 per cent of the votes and won the constituency. He defeated BJP's Braham Singh and Congress leader Asif Mohd Khan. The total voter turnout stood at 1,66,658.  

Delhi Assembly Elections 2013: Okhla Assembly
Congress leader Asif Mohd Khan won the Okhla seat in the 2013 state elections. Khan got 36.34 per cent of the votes and defeated Irfanullah Khan of the AAP and Dhir Singh Bidhuri of the BJP.  

Delhi 2009 Bye-Election: Okhla Assembly
Asif Muhammad Khan contested on RJD ticket and won the bye-elections. He got 28.98 per cent votes.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2008, 2003, 1998 and 1993: Okhla Assembly
Congress leader Parvez Hashmi won the Okhla seat in 2008. He got 28.53 per cent of votes. He defeated RJD's Asif Muhammad Khan and BSP's Braham Singh Bidhuri that year.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Jan 2020, 03:26:54 PM