News Nation Logo

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: BJP MLA Vijender Gupta Wins Rohini Seat

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 - Rohini Constituency: BJP's Vijender Gupta Leading On Rohini Seat. On Rohini Seat, AAP's Rajesh Nama Bansiwala Is Up Against BJP's Vijender Gupta And Congress' Sumesh Gupta.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 12 Feb 2020, 04:07:59 AM
Delhi Assembly Elections 2020

BJP's Vijender Gupta. (Photo Credit: File Photo )

New Delhi:

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 - Rohini Constituency: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Vijender Gupta has defeated Rajesh Bansiwala of the AAP by 12,648 votes in the Delhi Assembly elections on Tuesday. The BJP leader got 62,174 votes, while the AAP candidate could get 49,526 votes. Sumesh Gupta of Congress got 1,963 votes. Gupta is presently a member of the Legislative Assembly from this seat.

In the 2015 elections, Gupta was one of the three BJP candidates to win. He was also then president of the party’s Delhi unit. He had defeated Aam Aadmi Party candidate CL Gupta by a margin of 5,000 votes and appointed the Leader of Opposition in the Delhi assembly.

AAP’s Rajesh Garg had won the Rohini seat in the 2013 polls. Garg defeated then BJP’s sitting MLA Jai Bhagwan Aggarwal by a margin of nearly 1,500 votes. 

Counting of the votes for the Delhi Assembly elections 2020 began on Tuesday at 8 am. The voting for all 70-seats of Delhi's Legislative Assembly elections was held on Saturday. Delhi witnessed a three-cornered contest between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. The North West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency consists of 10 Vidhan Sabha seats including Rohini, Narela, Rithala, Mundka, Mangolpuri, Kirari, Bawana, Nangloi Jat, Badli, and Sultanpur Majra. 

It is to be noted that Rohini was one of the three seats which BJP won in the 2015 elections. Rohini has the lowest percentage of Scheduled Caste (4.98% per cent) population among all Delhi Assembly constituencies. This is the only seat which AAP had won in 2013, but lost in 2015.

In the 2020 elections, there were a total of 1,82,979 eligible electors, of which 95,302 were male, 87,665 female and 12 voters of the third gender. The electorate gender ratio in Rohini in 2020 is 919.87. Among the first-time voters in 2020 in Rohini, there are a total of 3022 voters in the 18-19 years age group.

Past winners/MLAs:

In the 2015 Delhi Assembly elections, Vijender Gupta of BJP won in this seat by defeating C L Gupta Advocate of AAP.

In 2013, Rajesh Garg of AAP won in this seat defeating Jai Bhagwan Aggarwal of BJP.

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Counting Of Votes For 10 Seats Under North East Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency Begins

In the 2008 Assembly elections, Jai Bhagwan Aggarwal of BJP won in this seat defeating Vijender Jindal of INC.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Feb 2020, 10:04:47 AM