News Nation Logo


Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: All About Seelampur Constituency

In Seelampur, The Congress Has Once Again Trusted Its Old Horse Chaudhary Mateen Ahmed To Regain The Seat He Held For Five Consecutive Terms.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 28 Jan 2020, 07:04:34 PM
Congress's Mateen Ahmed and Abdul Rehman of AAP

Seelampur Congress candidate Mateen Ahmed and AAP's Abdul Rehman (Photo Credit: File/ANI)

New Delhi:

During the 18-month emergency from 1975 and 1977, several people were displaced after their homes in north and central Delhi were demolished. Those displaced people were relocated to Seelampur in North East Delhi. In 1993, when Delhi was declared as National Capital Territory of Delhi and Assembly elections were held after a gap of 41 years, Chaudhary Mateen Ahmed of Janata Dal won the Seelampur Assembly constituency by narrowly defeating his nearest rival Jai Kishan Dassgupta of the BJP. Mateen then quit the Janata Dal and fought the 1998 Delhi Assembly Elections as an independent candidate and defeated BJP’s Data Ram by over 15,000 votes.

Following his victory, Mateen fought 2003 Delhi Assembly elections on Congress ticket and won for the third consecutive term. He went on to win the next two elections from Seelampur before being defeated by Aam Aadmi Party candidate Mohammad Ishraque. Mateen came third after BJP’s Sanjay Jain.

This time, the AAP replaced Mohammad Ishraque with Abdul Rehman and he will fight against the BJP’s Kaushal Mishra. The Congress has once again trusted its old horse Chaudhary Mateen Ahmed to regain the seat he held for five consecutive terms. However, with AAP and the BJP, it won’t be an easy task for him.

The ruling Aam Aadmi Party is in a direct contest with the BJP and the Congress for the elections for the 70-member Delhi Legislative Assembly. Although it is being dubbed as a three-way contest, the AAP and the BJP are the two main challengers eying the Chief Minister’s post. The Congress, on the other hand, would be hoping to regain the lost bastion. The situation is no different in Seelampur with considerable population of Muslims in the area.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2015: Seelampur Results

AAP: Mohammad Ishraque - 57,302 votes

BJP: Sanjay Jain - 29,415 votes

Congress: Chaudhary Mateen Ahmed - 23,791 votes

Delhi Assembly Elections 2013: Seelampur Results

Congress: Chaudhary Mateen Ahmed - 46,452 votes

BJP: Kaushal Kumar Mishra - 24,724 votes

BSP: Abdul Rehman - 13,352 votes

Delhi Assembly Elections 2008: Seelampur Results

Congress: Chaudhary Mateen Ahmad - 47,820 votes

BJP: Sita Ram Gupta - 21,546 votes

BSP: Hazi Afzzal - 13,445 votes

Delhi Assembly Elections 2003: Seelampur Results

Congress: Chaudhary Mateen Ahmed - 34,085 votes

BJP: Sanjay Kumar Jain - 12,373 votes

JD(S): Haji Ikram Hasan - 5,323 votes

Delhi Assembly Elections 1998: Seelampur Results

Independent: Chaudhary Mateen Ahmed - 27,376 votes

 BJP - Data Ram  - 11,001 votes

Congress: Salauddin - 7,497 votes

Delhi Assembly Elections 1993: Seelampur Results

Janata Dal: Chaudhary Mateen Ahmed - 16,518 votes

BJP: Jai Kishan Dassgupta - 15,080 votes

Congress: Sultan Ahmed - 6,309 votes

When Will Elections Be Held In Seelampur Assembly Constituency?

As per the schedule released by the Election Commission, voting for all 70 seats, including Seelampur, will be held on February 8, 2020. The result will be announced after votes are counted on February 11. The term of the current Assembly elected in 2015 will expire on February 22, 2020. RELATED

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 28 Jan 2020, 07:03:27 PM