News Nation Logo


Delhi Assembly Elections: All You Need To Know About Shahdara Constituency

Shahdara Constituency, Situated Near The Banks Of Yamuna River, Is One Of The Oldest Inhabited Areas Of The National Capital And Integral To What Is Known As Purani Dilli.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 08 Feb 2020, 12:46:01 PM
Shahdara Constituency

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Know Your Shahdara Constituency (Photo Credit: News Nation)

New Delhi :

Delhi is set to see high-octane Assembly elections next month. Polls to the 70-member Delhi Assembly promises to be a triangular contest with the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) hoping to retain power in the national capital on the plank of development. On the other hand, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), buoyed by Lok Sabha Elections 2019 results, is expecting to improve its previous tally. Similarly, the Congress is leaving no stone unturned to open its account in the upcoming Assembly elections. There are several key constituencies in Delhi's 70-member strong Assembly that are likely to see tough competition this time. One such Assembly constituency is Shahdara – which is a part of East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. Shahdara Assembly constituency is currently held by Ram Niwas Goel of AAP. Jangpura, Okhla, Trilokpuri, Kondli, Patparganj, Laxmi Nagar, Vishwas Nagar, Krishna Nagar, and Gandhi Nagar are other Assembly constituencies of the New Delhi Lok Sabha seat. The current Member of Parliament from East Delhi is BJP's Gautam Gambhir.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Date And Result
As per the schedule released by the Election Commission, voting for all 70 seats will be held on February 8, 2020. The result will be announced after votes are counted on February 11. The term of the current Assembly elected in 2015 will expire on February 22, 2020.

Shahdara Constituency: Total Number Of Voters
As per the information available from the official website of the Election Commission in 2019, there were 1,85,340 (Male Voters: 97,610 and Female Voters: 87,653) eligible voters in the Shahdara Constituency.

Shahdara Assembly Constituency Issues
Shahdara, situated near the banks of Yamuna river, is one of the oldest inhabited areas of the national capital and integral to what is known as Purani Dilli. This is why parking and traffic congestion are some of the most important issues that need to be addressed on a priority basis.

Shahdara Assembly Constituency: Candidates
For the 2020 Delhi Assembly election, the key candidates in the Shahdara constituency are Ram Niwas Goyal of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Sanjay Goyal of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Narender Nath of the Indian National Congress.  

Delhi Assembly Elections 2015: Shahdara Assembly Seat
In the 2015 Delhi Assembly Elections, AAP's Ram Niwas Goyal got 49.49 per cent of the votes and won the constituency. He defeated BJP's Jitender Singh Shunty and Congress leader Narender Nath. The total voter turnout stood at 1,17,736.  

Delhi Assembly Elections 2013: Shahdara Assembly Seat
BJP's Jitender Singh Shunty won the Shahdara Assembly seat in the 2013 state elections. He defeated Congress leader Narender Nath and AAP's Balbir Singh. Shunty got 42.96 per cent of the votes. The total voter turnout stood at 1,05,607.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2008, 2003 and 1998: Shahdara Assembly Seat
Congress leader Narender Nath won the Shahdara seat for three consecutive terms starting from 1998. In 2008, he got 44.89 per cent votes and defeated BJP' Jitender Singh Shunty.    

Delhi Assembly Elections 1993: Shahdara Assembly
The winner in the 1993 elections was Ram Niwas Goel of BJP who got 28,253 votes. He defeated Chaman Lal Yadav of Congress.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Jan 2020, 04:07:16 PM