News Nation Logo

Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal Wins New Delhi Seat By More Than 21,000 Votes

Arvind Kejriwal Defeated BJP's Sunil Yadav By A Margin Of 21, 697 Votes. Kejriwal Got 46, 526 Votes While Sunil Yadav Got 24, 876 Votes.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Mohit Pandey | Updated on: 11 Feb 2020, 09:22:39 PM
Arvind Kejriwal

Nine years ago, Kejriwal slipped into the political frame behind Anna Hazare during the Lokpal movement in 2011. (Photo Credit: Twitter/@ArvindKejriwal )

New Delhi:

Delhi Chief Minister and AAP's national convenor Arvind Kejriwal won New Delhi assembly seat by a margin of 21, 697 votes. Kejriwal defeated BJP's Sunil Yadav to become MLA for the third consecutive time from the New Delhi seat. Kejriwal got 46, 758 votes while Sunil Yadav got 25, 061 votes. Indian National Congress's Romesh Sabharwal remained at distant third with just 3,206 votes, accroding to Election Commission data. Interestingly, this VVIP constituency has seen a maximum number of candidates contesting the polls. Apart from Kejriwal, 27 other candidates contested from New Delhi seat. 

In the 2015 Assembly elections also, Kejriwal had emerged victorious from the New Delhi Vidhan Sabha seat. He had defeated BJP's Nupur Sharma by a margin of more than 31,000 votes. 

One of Kejriwal's historic victories came in the 2013 Assembly election, when he defeated the then Delhi CM Sheila Dikshit by a margin of more than 25,000 votes. BJP's Vijender Gupta had got the third spot in that election. 

As per the latest update available on the website of Election Commission of India, Arvind Kejriwal's AAP has already won 58 seats and leads on 4 seats in Delhi. The BJP, on the other hand, has won 7 seats while maintains lead on a single seat.

Arvind Kejriwal, engineer, civil servant and Delhi’s man with a development agenda, has defeated the veterans of Indian politics for the second time in five years. 

Also Read: PM Modi Congratulates Arvind Kejriwal For Victory In Delhi Assembly Elections

Nine years ago, Kejriwal slipped into the political frame behind Anna Hazare during the Lokpal movement in 2011 before quickly enlarging his canvas, first as a satyagrah activist and then as founder of the cleverly named Aam Aadmi Party that took on the might of the BJP to reclaim Delhi for a third time on Tuesday.

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Election Results 2020: Deputy CM Manish Sisodia Wins Patparganj seat

In 2013, he became chief minister but only for 49 days, images of him sleeping in his utilitarian Wagon R while on dharna’ for a Jan Lokpal (ombudsman) wrapped in a cotton quilt against the cold winter nights making the front pages.

(With PTI inputs)

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Feb 2020, 08:24:02 PM