News Nation Logo


Delhi Assembly Elections: All You Need To Know About Badarpur Constituency

Badarpur Constituency, Which Is A Part Of South Delhi Lok Sabha Seat, Is Set To Have Basic Amenities Like Water, Sewer, Open Drains And Roads At The Centre Stage In The Polls.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Mohit Pandey | Updated on: 08 Feb 2020, 12:46:51 PM
Badarpur Assembly Constituency

Badarpur Assembly Constituency is a part of South Delhi Lok Sabha seat (Photo Credit: Facebook/Google Maps)

New Delhi:

Badarpur Assembly Constituency, which is a part of South Delhi Lok Sabha seat, is set to have basic amenities like water, sewer, open drains and roads at the centre stage in the polls. People still crave for adequate water supply and the dependency over erratic supply through tankers may be the decider in the Delhi Assembly elections. Besides these, lack of transport system, women’s safety, and law and order are the other major issues in Badarpur constituency. It is the part of South Delhi Lok Sabha constituency which comprises other Vidhan Sabha segments like Mehrauli, Palam, Bijwasan, Kalkaji, Mehrauli, Deoli, Ambedkar Nagar, Sangam Vihar, Tughlaqabad and Badarpur. Moreover, the present geographical structure of Badarpur constituency came into existence in 2008 as a part of the implementation of the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission of India constituted in 2002.

Delhi Assembly Elections And Result Date

As per the schedule released by the Election Commission, voting for all 70 seats will be held on February 8, 2020. The result will be announced after votes are counted on February 11. The term of the current Assembly elected in 2015 will expire on February 22, 2020.

Badarpur Assembly Constituency Candidates

Its Pramod Kumar Yadav (INC) vs Ramveer Singh Bidhuri (BJP) vs Ram Singh Netaji (AAP).

In 2020 The BJP has fielded Ramveer Singh Bidhuri against Ram Singh Netaji. Pramod Kumar Yadav will be representing Congress on the seat.

Voters In Badarpur Constituency

The total number of eligible voters in the Badarpur constituency as per the information available on the official website of the Election Commission in 2019 was 154386 (Male Voters: 79,224 and Female Voters: 75,072).

Badarpur: 2015 Assembly Elections

The Aam Aadmi Party dominated the 2015 and Badarpur too went to Kejriwal-led AAP. AAP's Narayan Dutt Sharma got an overwhelming 55.31 percent of the total votes polled in Badarpur. BJP's Ramvir Singh Bidhuri remained at the second spot with 27.38 per cent of the votes. AAP's Narayan Dutt Sharma got 94,087 votes while BJP’s Ramvir Singh Bidhuri bagged 46500 votes. Congress' Ram Singh Netaji was at a distant third with just 11.11 per cent of the total vote share. The total turnout was 1,69,992 while 409 postal votes were cast.

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Elections: All You Need To Know About Mehrauli Constituency

Badarpur: 2013 Assembly Elections

In the 2013 Assembly Elections, BJP's Ramvir Singh Bidhuri had defeated INC's Ram Singh Netaji. Ramvir Singh Bidhuri got 45,344 votes while Ram Singh Netaji was confined to 31490 votes. The overall turnout was 1,32,069 in 2013 while 391 postal votes were cast. BSP’s Nar Singh Shah got 30,242 votes.

Badarpur: 2008 Assembly Elections

In 2008 Assembly Elections, BSP’s Ram Singh Netaji defeated INC's Ramvir Singh Bidhuri. Ram Singh Netaji got 53406 votes while Ramvir Singh Bidhuri got 40105 votes. BJP’s Khem Chand was at third spot with 15,617 votes going in his favour.

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Elections: All You Need To Know About Chhatarpur Constituency

Badarpur: 1993 To 2003

In 1993 Assembly elections, Janata Dal’s Ramvir Singh Bidhuri had defeated INC’s Ram Singh Netaji. BJP’s Lajja Singh remained at the third spot. Contesting as an independent candidate, Ram Singh Netaji made the comeback in 1998 Assembly elections defeating Ramvir Singh Bidhuri. He defeated Ramvir Singh Bidhuri who had defected over to INC in 1998. BJP’s Suraj Bhan was confined to the third spot. In the 2003 elections, NCP’s Rambir Singh Bidhuri emerged as the winner defeating INC’s Ram Singh Netaji. BSP’s Brahm Singh was at the third spot in 2003.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 Jan 2020, 05:09:27 PM