News Nation Logo


Delhi Assembly Elections: All You Need To Know About Chandni Chowk Constituency

Chandni Chowk Is Not Only One Of The Oldest But Also The Busiest Markets In Old Delhi.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 08 Feb 2020, 12:46:08 PM
Chandni Chowk

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Know Your Chandni Chowk Constituency (Photo Credit: News Nation)

New Delhi :

People of Delhi will exercise franchise on February 8 to elect their representatives for 70 Assembly seats. Elections in the national capital are set to be a triangular contest between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. There are several key constituencies, including Chandni Chowk. It is one of several constituencies that together make up the Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha seat. The other Assembly constituencies are Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri Nagar, Wazirpur, Model Town, Sadar Bazar, Matia Mahal, and Ballimaran. The current Member of Parliament from Chandni Chowk is BJP's Harsh Vardhan. Alka Lamba, who was expelled from the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in 2019, is the current MLA from the Chandni Chowk Assembly seat.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Date And Result
As per the schedule released by the Election Commission, voting for all 70 seats will be held on February 8, 2020. The result will be announced after votes are counted on February 11. The term of the current Assembly elected in 2015 will expire on February 22, 2020.

Chandni Chowk Constituency: Total Number Of Voters
As per the information available from the official website of the Election Commission in 2019, there were 1,22,544 (Male Voters: 67,466 and Female Voters: 55,026) eligible voters in the Chandni Chowk Constituency.

Chandni Chowk Constituency Issues
Chandni Chowk is not only one of the oldest but also the busiest markets in Old Delhi. Located close to Old Delhi, Chandni Chowk sees a heavy footfall of locals as well as tourists because of the Red Fort monument located at its eastern end. You can barely walk without touching another passer-by in the market. There are several development projects to decongest the roads of the area but nothing has so far changed on the ground. The other issue faced by the people of the area is parking. There are several markets in the area but hardly any parking space.

Chandni Chowk Constituency: Candidates  
In the 2020 Delhi Assembly election, the key candidates in the Chandni Chowk constituency are Parlad Singh Sawhney of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Suman Kumar Gupta of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Alka Lamba of the Indian National Congress.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2015: Chandni Chowk Assembly Seat
In the 2015 Delhi Assembly Elections, AAP's Alka Lamba got 49.35 per cent of the votes and won the constituency. He defeated BJP's Suman Kumar Gupta and Congress leader Parlad Singh Sawhney. The total voter turnout stood at 74,476.  

Delhi Assembly Elections 2013: Chandni Chowk Assembly Seat
Congress leader Parlad Singh Sawhney won the Chandni Chowk Assembly seat in the 2013 state elections. Sawhney got 37.77 per cent of the votes and defeated Suman Kumar Gupta of the BJP and Vikram Badhwar of the AAP.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2008, 2003 and 1998: Chandni Chowk Assembly Seat
Congress leader Parlad Singh Sawhney won the Chandni Chowk seat for three consecutive terms starting from 1998. In 2008, he got 45.61 per cent votes and defeated BJP' Praveen Khandelwal.    

Delhi Assembly Elections 1993: Chandni Chowk Assembly
Vasdev Kaptain of the Bharatiya Janata Party won the 1993 elections with 50.56 per cent votes. He defeated MM Agarwal of the Congress.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Jan 2020, 03:50:07 PM