News Nation Logo


Delhi Assembly Elections: All You Need To Know About Chhatarpur Constituency

Being Surrounded By Posh South Delhi Localities From One Side And Swanky Farmhouses From The Other, Chhatarpur Assembly Constituency Still Craves For Basic Amenities.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Mohit Pandey | Updated on: 08 Feb 2020, 12:47:01 PM
Chhatarpur Vidhan Sabha

BJP has fielded Brahm Singh Tanwar against AAP's Kartar Singh Tanwar. (Photo Credit: Facebook/Google Maps)

New Delhi:

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Chhatarpur Assembly Constituency: Being surrounded by posh South Delhi localities from one side and swanky farmhouses from the other, Chhatarpur Assembly constituency still craves for basic amenities like electricity supply and decongestion. Besides these, women's safety and pathetic sewerage system exacerbate things in Chhatarpur and ask for a total overhaul. It is the part of South Delhi Lok Sabha constituency which comprises other Vidhan Sabha segments like Mehrauli, Palam, Bijwasan, Kalkaji, Mehrauli, Deoli, Ambedkar Nagar, Sangam Vihar, Tughlaqabad and Badarpur. Moreover, the present geographical structure of Chhatarpur constituency came into existence in 2008 as a part of the implementation of the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission of India constituted in 2002.

Delhi Assembly Elections And Result Date

As per the schedule released by the Election Commission, voting for all 70 seats will be held on February 8, 2020. The result will be announced after votes are counted on February 11. The term of the current Assembly elected in 2015 will expire on February 22, 2020.

Chhatarpur Assembly Constituency Candidates In 2020

Its Brahm Singh Tanwar (BJP) vs Kartar Singh Tanwar vs Satish Lohia in Chhatarpur. (Photo Credit: Facebook/ Brahm Singh Tanwar, Facebook/ Kartar Singh Tanwar, Facebook/Satish Lohia)

The BJP has fielded Brahm Singh Tanwar against AAP's Kartar Singh Tanwar. Satish Lohia will be representing Congress on the seat.

Voters In Chhatarpur Constituency

The total number of eligible voters in the Chhatarpur constituency as per the information available on the official website of the Election Commission in 2019 was 2,09,356 (Male Voters: 1,20,971 and Female Voters: 88,240).

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Elections: All You Need To Know About Mehrauli Constituency

2015 Assembly Elections

When entire Delhi uprooted everyone except the Aam Aadmi Party in 2015, Chhatarpur too was won by the Kejriwal-led party. AAP's Kartar Singh Tanwar got an overwhelming 54.29 percent of the total votes polled in Chhatarpur. BJP's Brahm Singh Tanwar remained at the second spot with 36.44 per cent of the votes. AAP's Kartar Singh got 67, 431 votes while BJP Brahm Singh bagged 45, 153 votes. Congress' Balram Tanwar was at a distant third with just 7.49 per cent of the total vote share. The total turnout was 124, 073 while 529 postal votes were cast. 

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Elections: All You Need To Know About Badarpur Constituency

2013 Assembly Elections

In the 2013 Assembly Elections, BJP's Brahm Singh Tanwar had defeated INC's Balram Tanwar. Brahm Singh got 49, 763 votes while Balram Tanwar was confined to 33, 732 votes. The overall turnout was 11, 027 in 2013 while 449 postal votes were cast.

2008 Assembly Elections

In a close contest in 2008 Assembly Elections, Congress' Balram Tanwar defeated BJP's Brahm Singh Tanwar by a margin of 5,030 votes. Balram Tanwar got 32,401 votes while Brahm Singh Tanwar bagged 27,370 of the total 87,060 votes polled. BSP's Kanwar Singh Tanwar remained at third spot with 25, 486 votes. 

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Jan 2020, 05:44:07 PM