News Nation Logo


Delhi Assembly Elections: All You Need To Know About Karawal Nagar Constituency

In The 70-member Delhi Legislative Assembly, There Are Several Key Constituencies Including Karawal Nagar Which Will Be Watched Closely By Political Analysts.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Fayiq Wani | Updated on: 08 Feb 2020, 12:46:59 PM
Delhi Assembly Elections 2020

Next month, Delhi will witness a three-cornered contest between the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. (Photo Credit: News Nation)

New Delhi:

Next month, Delhi will witness a three-cornered contest between the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. All major parties have announced their candidates for the February 8 polls. The counting of votes will be taken up on February 11. Nominations of nearly 700 candidates for the Delhi elections were found to be valid by poll authorities after scrutiny. Over 1.46 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the February 8 Assembly election in Delhi, according to the final electoral roll. In an unusual twist, BJP's age-old ally, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), is not contesting along with the saffron party this time. Instead, the BJP has given the remaining three seats to JD (U) and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP).

In the 70-member Delhi Legislative Assembly, there are several key constituencies including Karawal Nagar which will be watched closely by political analysts. Karawal Nagar is one of several constituencies that together make up the North East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency, currently held by BJP state chief Manoj Tiwari

The other constituencies that constitutes the North East Delhi Lok Sabha seat are: Ghonda, Seelampur, Seemapuri, Burari, Timarpur, Mustafabad, Rohtas Nagar, Gokalpur, Babarpur.

Karawal Nagar key candidates

Karawal Nagar Assembly Constituency: Candidates

In the 2020 Delhi Assembly election, the key candidates in the Karawal Nagar constituency are Durgesh Pathak of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Mohan Singh Bisht of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Arvind Singh of the Indian National Congress.  

Delhi Assembly Elections 2015: Karawal Nagar

In the 2015 Delhi Assembly Elections, AAP's Kapil Mishra got 59.84 per cent of the votes and won the constituency. He defeated BJP's Mohan Singh Bisht and Congress leader Satan Pal Dayma. The total voter turnout stood at 1,70,205.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2013: Karawal Nagar

BJP's Mohan Singh Bisht won the Karawal Nagar Assembly seat in the 2013 state elections. He defeated AAP's Kapil Mishra and Congress leader Beg Raj Singh. Mohan Singh Bisht got 34.64 per cent of the votes. The total voter turnout stood at 1,42,209.   

Delhi Assembly Elections 2008: Karawal Nagar

BJP leader Mohan Singh Bisht bagged the Karawal Nagar seat in the 2008 state elections. He got 42.80 per cent votes and defeated Independent candidate Satan Pal Dayma. Congress’ Diwan Singh Nayal stood at the third position. The total voter turnout stood at 1,02,748.

Karawal Nagar: 1993, 1998 And 2003 Assembly Elections Results

The winner in the 2003 elections was Mohan Singh Bisht of BJP who got 44,884 votes. In the 1998 Assembly elections, Bisht won this seat by getting 23,191 votes. Ram Pal had won the Karawal seat in the 1993 Assembly elections with 18,322 votes.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 Jan 2020, 12:49:34 PM