News Nation Logo

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: All You Need To Know About Krishna Nagar Constituency

Here's All You Need To Know About The Krishna Nagar Constituency In Delhi Assembly Elections 2020.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Pawas Kumar | Updated on: 08 Feb 2020, 12:46:44 PM
Krishna Nagar Assembly Seat

Krishna Nagar Vidhan Sabha constituency is an important seat out the 70 assembly constituencies of Delhi (Photo Credit: News Nation )

New Delhi:

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 - Krishna Nagar Constituency: Krishna Nagar Vidhan Sabha constituency is an important seat out of the 70 assembly constituencies of Delhi. Krishna Nagar assembly constituency is a part of East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. East Delhi Lok Sabha also includes Jangpura, Okhla, Trilokpuri, Kondli, Patparganj, Laxmi Nagar, Vishwas Nagar, Gandhi Nagar and Shahdara assembly seats. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) SK Bagga had defeated BJP's then CM candidate Kiran Bedi by 2277 votes in the 2015 assembly election. Before that election, Dr Harsh Vardhan had represented the seat from the start winning it in every assembly election from 1993 t0 2013. It was also considered as one of the safest seats for BJP before 2015.

In the 2020 Delhi Assembly election, the key candidates in the Krishna Nagar constituency are SK Bagga of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Anil Goyal of the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) and Dr Ashok Kumar Walia of the Indian National Congress.

In the last Delhi Legislative Assembly Elections, the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won a landmark victory after it secured 67 of the total 70 seats in the state legislature. With close to 1.5 crore eligible voters, Delhi will witness a three-cornered contest between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Date And Result

As per the schedule released by the Election Commission, voting for all 70 seats of Delhi assembly elections will be held on February 8, 2020. The result will be announced after votes are counted on February 11. The term of the current Assembly elected in 2015 will expire on 22 February 2020.

Krishna Nagar Assembly Constituency: Total Number Of Voters

The Krishna Nagar Assembly seat under the East Delhi Lok Sabha seat includes areas like Jagat Puri, Radhey Puri, Shastri Nagar, Khureji Khas, Indira Park, Police colony, Brij Puri, Ram Nagar, Anar Kali, Govind Pura, Pandit Park, Ghondli Village and others, and has a population of over 2.16 lakh voters. According to the Election Commission there are about 1.13 lakh male voters while 1.03 lakh female voters.

Krishna Nagar Assembly Constituency: Candidates

SK Bagga, the sitting MLA from AAP, will contest the Assembly elections against Congress candidate AK Walia and BJP's Anil Goyal. Walia has been an MLA from the neighbouring Laxmi Nagar seat previously. 

SK Bagga, Anil Goyal and AK Walia

Krishna Nagar Assembly Constituency: Key Issues

The people in this seat are confronted with many problems like water, electricity and congestion. One of the biggest issue in this Trans-Yamuna seat is lack of Parking. Illegal construction is another big issue.

Krishna Nagar- Delhi Assembly Elections 2015

SK Bagga got 65,919 (47.99 percent) of the votes while Kiran Bedi got 63,642 (46.33%) votes. The total voter turnout stood 72.24 percent.

Krishna Nagar - Delhi Assembly Elections 2013

BJP's Harsh Vardhan won the Krishna Nagar seat in the 2013 elections getting 69,222 votes. He defeated Congress leader Vinod Kumar Monga while AAP candidate Ishrat Ali Ansari finished third.

Krishna Nagar Delhi Assembly Elections: Previous Results

Krishna NagarWinnerRunner-Up
2008 Harsh Vardhan (BJP) Deepika Khullar (Congress)
2003 Harsh Vardhan (BJP) Narinder Kumar (Congress)
1998 Harsh Vardhan (BJP) SN Misra (Congress)
1993 Harsh Vardhan (BJP) Balvinder Singh (Congress)

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Jan 2020, 04:40:31 PM