News Nation Logo


Delhi Assembly Elections: All You Need To Know About Mehrauli Constituency

Mehrauli Constituency: Delhi Is Set To Go To Polls Next Month With The Contest Being Well-poised Among The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) And Congress.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Mohit Pandey | Updated on: 26 Jan 2020, 05:27:38 PM
Mehrauli Assembly Constituency

Mehrauli is a part of South Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. (Photo Credit: Facebook/Google Maps )

New Delhi:

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020- Mehrauli Constituency: Delhi is set to go to polls next month with the contest being well-poised among the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. Of the total 70 Assembly seats in Delhi, Mehrauli is one, still battling against deplorable water supply, and despite Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's claim of having transformed Delhi to a large extent, basic facilities are set to take the centre stage in the constituency. Other issues pertaining to Mehrauli, which largely comprises urban villages and unauthorised colonies, are sewer lines and traffic congestion. Mehrauli is a part of South Delhi Lok Sabha constituency along with nine other Vidhan Sabha segments being Chattarpur, Palam, Bijwasan, Kalkaji, Deoli, Ambedkar Nagar, Sangam Vihar, Tughlaqabad and Badarpur. Moreover, the present geographical structure of Mehrauli constituency came into existence in 2008 as a part of the implementation of the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission of India constituted in 2002.

Delhi Assembly Elections And Result Date

As per the schedule released by the Election Commission, voting for all 70 seats will be held on February 8, 2020. The result will be announced after votes are counted on February 11. The term of the current Assembly elected in 2015 will expire on February 22, 2020.

Mehrauli Assembly Constituency Candidates

BJP has fielded Kusum Khatri against AAP's Naresh Yadav in Mehrauli. Mohinder Chaudhary will be representing Congress on the seat.

Its Naresh Yadav (AAP) vs Kusum Khatri (BJP) vs Mohinder Chaudhary (INC) in Mehrauli. Photo Credit: Facebook/ Naresh Yadav, Facebook/ Kusum Khatri, Facebook/ Mohinder Chaudhary


Voters In Mehrauli Constituency

Total number of eligible voters in the Mehrauli Constituency as per the information available on the official website of the Election Commission in 2019 was 1,96,953 (Male Voters: 1,10,019 and Female Voters: 86,756).

2015 Assembly Elections

Mehrauli too was swayed away in Kejriwal juggernaut with AAP's Naresh Yadav getting the better of BJP's Sarita Chaudhary. Naresh Yadav got 57,984 while Sarita Chaudhary bagged 40, 955 votes of the total 113366 votes polled. AAP and BJP got 51.06 per cent and 36.17 per cent of vote shares respectively. Moreover, Congress' Satbir Singh was at a distant third with 10.60 per cent of the total votes polled going in his favour in Mehrauli.

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Elections: All You Need To Know About Badarpur Constituency

2013 Assembly Elections

In the 2013 Assembly Elections, BJP's Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma had defeated AAP's Narinder Singh Sejwal. Narinder Singh got 32,790 while 37,481 votes went in favour of Parvesh Verma. The overall turnout was 96,331 while 463 postal votes were cast in 2013.

2008 Assembly Elections

In a close contest, Congress' Yoganand Shastri defeated BJP's Sher Singh Dagar. Shastri got 21,736 votes while Sher Singh Dagar bagged 20,632 of the total 66,224 votes polled.

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Elections: All You Need To Know About Chhatarpur Constituency

Mehrauli - 1993 To 2003

BJP's Brahm Singh Tanwar remained the MLA from Mehrauli constituency from 1993 to 2003. He was defeated in 2003 Assembly Elections by INC's Balram Tanwar.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Jan 2020, 11:12:17 AM