News Nation Logo

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: All You Need To Know About Tilak Nagar Constituency

Here's All You Need To Know About The Tilak Nagar Constituency In Delhi Assembly Elections 2020.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Pawas Kumar | Updated on: 08 Feb 2020, 12:46:53 PM
Tilak Nagar Vidhan Sabha

Tilak Nagar Vidhan Sabha constituency is an important seat out the 70 assembly constituencies of Delhi (Photo Credit: News Nation )

New Delhi:

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 - Tilak Nagar Constituency: Tilak Nagar Vidhan Sabha constituency is an important seat out of the 70 assembly constituencies of Delhi. Tilak Nagar is part of West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency along with nine other Vidhan Sabha segments, namely, Madipur, Rajouri Garden, Hari Nagar, Najafgarh, Janakpuri, Vikaspuri, Dwarka, Matiala and Uttam Nagar. The Tilak Nagar seat is currently held by Jarnail Singh of AAP. He beat Rajiv Babbar of BJP in the 2015 Delhi Assembly Elections. Jarnail Singh got 57,180 (55.1 percent) of the votes while Rajiv Babbar got 37,290 (35.93%) votes.

In the 2020 Delhi Assembly election, the key candidates in the Tilak Nagar constituency are Jarnail Singh of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Rajiv Babbar of the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) and Raminder Singh Bamrah of the Indian National Congress.

In the last Delhi Legislative Assembly Elections, the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won a landmark victory after it secured 67 of the total 70 seats in the state legislature. With close to 1.5 crore eligible voters, Delhi will witness a three-cornered contest between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Date And Result

As per the schedule released by the Election Commission, voting for all 70 seats of Delhi assembly elections will be held on February 8, 2020. The result will be announced after votes are counted on February 11. The term of the current Assembly elected in 2015 will expire on 22 February 2020.

Tilak Nagar Assembly Constituency: Total Number Of Voters

As per the information available from the Election Commission, there were 1,46,940 (Male Voters: 76,079 and Female Voters: 70m855) eligible voters in the Tilak Nagar assembly constituency.

Tilak Nagar Assembly Constituency: Candidates

Jarnail Singh, the sitting MLA from AAP, will contest the Assembly elections against BJP candidate Rajiv Babbar, and Congress' Raminder Singh Bamrah.

Jarnail Singh and Rajiv Babbar

Tilak Nagar Assembly Constituency: Key Issues

The biggest problem face by voters in Tilak Nagar assembly constituency is polluted drinking water. They have also complained about day-to-day problems including narrow lanes, illegal colonies, traffic jams, sewer lines, and water-logging.

Tilak Nagar - Delhi Assembly Elections 2015 

Jarnail Singh got 57,180 (55.1 percent) of the votes while Rajiv Babbar got 37,290 (35.93%) votes. The total voter turnout stood 73 percent.

Tilak Nagar - Delhi Assembly Elections 2013

AAP's Jarnail Singh won the Tilak Nagar seat in the 2013 elections getting 34,993 votes. He defeated BJP leader Rajiv Babber while Congress candidate Amrita Dhawan finished third.

Tilak Nagar Delhi Assembly Elections: Previous Results

Tilak NagarWinnerRunner-Up
2008 OP Babbar (BJP) Dr Anita Babbar (Congress)
2003 OP Babbar (BJP) Jaspal Singh (Congress)
1998 Jaspal Singh (Congress) OP Babbar (BJP)
1993 OP Babbar (BJP) TS Marwah (Congress)

Source: ECI

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Jan 2020, 04:39:53 PM