News Nation Logo

Delhi Assembly Polls: 10 Key Constituencies To Watch Out For In This Election

Here Are The Seats To Watch Out For In Delhi Assembly Elections This Year.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Pawas Kumar | Updated on: 11 Feb 2020, 07:30:04 AM
Delhi Assembly Polls

Kapil Mishra of BJP, Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal and Congress candidate Shivani Chopra are among the 672 candidates in fray in Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 (Photo Credit: Composite Image)

New Delhi:

Voting in the Delhi assembly elections is underway on Saturday. Over 1.47 crore people are eligible to exercise their franchise in the polls that will decide the fate of 672 candidates in 70 assembly constituencies which are seeing a triangular contest among the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), opposition BJP and the Congress.

Here are the seats to watch out for in Delhi assembly elections this year:

New Delhi Vidhan Sabha Seat

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal is contesting from the New Delhi Vidhan Sabha seat again. The AAP national convener will face off against BJP's Sunil Kumar Yadav — a youth leader — and Romesh Sabharwal of Congress.

Patparganj Vidhan Sabha Seat

In Patparganj, Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia is contesting against BJP's Ravinder Singh Negi and Congress candidate Laxman Rawat. Sisodia has emerged as one of most popular faces in Delhi politics as face of AAP government's work on education.

Chandni Chowk Vidhan Sabha Seat

Chandni Chowk sitting MLA Alka Lamba, who jumped from AAP to Congress, will face Prahlad Singh Sawhney, who jumped from Congress to the AAP. Sawhney is a five-time MLA but was defeated by Lamba in 2015.

Model Town Vidhan Sabha Seat

In Model Town, BJP leader Kapil Mishra, who switched from AAP, is contesting against AAP's sitting MLA Akhilesh Pati Tripathi. Akanksha Ola of Congress makes the fight triangular.

Rohini Vidhan Sabha Seat

Rohini is one of the three seats that remained with BJP in the 2015 assembly polls. BJP's incumbent Vijender Gupta will face the challenge from AAP candidate Rajesh Nama Bansiwala. Congress have given ticket to Sumesh Gupta.

Okhla Vidhan Sabha Seat

The Okhla seat is in focus as it contains Shaheen Bagh and Jamia Millia Islamia- two of the focal points of anti-CAA protests in the capital. The seat will see a contest between AAP's incumbent MLA Amanatullah Khan and BJP's Brahm Singh.

Hari Nagar Vidhan Sabha Seat

The Hari Nagar constituency seat will be closely watched as BJP has given a ticket to Tajinder Singh Bagga to contest the seat. AAP has fielded Rajkumari Dhillon, a former Congress councillor and resident of the area, instead of sitting MLA Jagdeep Singh.

Rajendra Nagar Vidhan Sabha Seat

Rajendra Nagar: AAP's Raghav Chadha faces off against RP Singh, an old name of BJP and a well-known name of Delhi politics. Congress has given the ticket to former Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) President Rocky Tussied.

Kalkaji Vidhan Sabha Seat

In Kalkaji, AAP leader Aatishi is contesting against Shivani Chopra- the younger daughter of three-time Congress MLA and its Delhi unit chief Subhash Chopra. BJP is betting on Dharamveer Singh to win the seat and deal a big blow to Aam Aadmi Party.

Dwarka Vidhan Sabha Seat

In another case of switch-roo, sitting Dwarka MLA Adarsh Shastri, who had won the seat for the Aam Aadmi Party in the 2015 Delhi state assembly elections, will not be contesting on Congress ticket after being denied the ticket in this election. AAP has fielded Vinay Mishra- the son of former Congress MP Mahabal Mishra. BJP has pitched its faith once again on two-time contender Pradyuman Rajput.

The Babarpur seat, where senior minister Gopal Rai is contensting again, will be also one to watch. The Babarpur seat where senior minister Gopal Rai is contensting again will be also one to watch. Poonam Azad from Sangam Vihar, Shoaib Iqbal from Matil Mahal, Haroon Yusuf from Ballimaran and Arvinder Singh Lovely from Gandhi Nagar.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 08 Feb 2020, 02:47:16 PM