News Nation Logo

Delhi Assembly Polls: 3 Minority-Dominated Seats Witness Highest Voter Turnout

Delhi Assembly Polls: Long Queues Were Seen Outside Polling Stations In Areas Like Jaffrabad, Jamia Nagar, Turkman Gate And Shaheen Bagh.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Fayiq Wani | Updated on: 09 Feb 2020, 07:41:33 AM
Delhi Assembly Polls

Delhi Assembly Polls: At the Shaheen Bagh protest site, women voted in batches. (Photo Credit: IANS)

New Delhi:

Three minority-dominated seats of Mustafabad, Matia Mahal and Seelampur recorded the highest voter turnout in the Delhi Assembly elections on Saturday, polls officials said. The voting for 70 Assembly seats in Delhi ended at 6 pm on Saturday. According the reports, the national capital witnessed significant dip in the voter turnout compared to 2015 polls.

According to the data shared by officials, Mustafabad in northeast Delhi recorded 66.29 per cent voter turnout till 5 pm while Matia Mahal in Old Delhi, the area that saw anti-Citizenship (Amendment) Act protests, recorded a voter turnout of 65.62 per cent.

Seelampur, another minority-dominated seat in northeast Delhi, recorded 64.92 per cent voting. The are had also seen anti-CAA protests in December.

Long queues were seen outside polling stations in areas like Jaffrabad, Jamia Nagar, Turkman Gate and Shaheen Bagh which have been witnessing protests against the Citizenship (Amendment) Act.

At the Shaheen Bagh protest site, women voted in batches.

Exit polls for the Delhi assembly election forecast a comfortable victory for the ruling Aam Aadmi Party despite a likely rise in tally for the BJP in the 70-member House. The Times Now-Ipsos exit polls predicted that Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will retain his chair with the AAP winning 44 seats against 26 for the BJP.

The Republic-Jan ki Baat survey gave the AAP 48-61 seats and the BJP 9-21 seats. The TV9 Bharatvarsh-Cicero predicted 54 seats for the AAP, 15 for the BJP and one for the Congress.

Overall, the AAP is predicted to win 53 seats, the BJP 16 seats and the Congress 1 seat. 

The exit polls predicted little improvement in the fortunes of the Congress which could not bag any seat in the 2015 polls. The AAP had scored an overwhelming victory in the 2015 polls, winning 67 seats and reducing the BJP to three.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 09 Feb 2020, 07:41:33 AM