News Nation Logo

Delhi Polls: BSP Releases First List Of 42 Candidates, MLA Denied Ticket By AAP Finds Place

MLA Narayan Dutt Sharma, Who Quit The AAP Recently, Will Contest The February 8 Delhi Assembly Election From His Badarpur Constituency On A BSP Ticket.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 18 Jan 2020, 10:32:47 PM
BSP Chief Mayawati

BSP Chief Mayawati (Photo Credit: File image)

New Delhi:

MLA Narayan Dutt Sharma, who quit the AAP recently, will contest the February 8 Delhi Assembly election from his Badarpur constituency on a BSP ticket. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) announced its first list of 42 candidates. The party has decided to field its nominess in all 70 seats in Delhi. Another list is expected on Sunday.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) denied Sharma ticket this time and has fielded Ram Singh Netaji, a Congress leader and former MLA who joined the party recently. Ram Singh Netaji had won the Assembly elections in 2008 from Badarpur on a BSP ticket. The BSP won two seats in the 2008 elections. Of the 42 candidates fielded by the BSP on Saturday, eight belong to the Scheduled Castes.

Congress announces its first list of 54 candidates for Delhi Assembly polls

The Congress on Saturday evening released its first list of 54 candidates for the February 8 Delhi Assembly elections, fielding former Union minister Krishna Tirath from Patel Nagar and former Delhi minister Arvinder Lovely from Gandhi Nagar.

Also Read: Delhi Polls: Congress Releases First List Of 54 Candidates, Fields Alka Lamba From Chandni Chowk

Former AAP leader Alka Lamba, who switched over to the Congress, has been fielded from Chandni Chowk constituency, while election campaign committee chairman Kirti Azad’s wife Poonam Azad will contest from Sangam Vihar.

Former Delhi minister Ashok Kumar Walia will contest from Krishna Nagar constituency, Haroon Yusuf from Ballimaran, Mateen Ahamad from Seelampur, the party announced.

The Congress has not decided its candidate against Delhi Chief Minister and AAP supremo Arvind Kejriwal from the New Delhi seat.

The party has fielded Lakshman Rawat against Deputy CM Manish Sisodia from Patparganj.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 18 Jan 2020, 10:26:49 PM

Related Tags:

Mayawati BSP Delhi Poll Panel