News Nation Logo


Delhi Polls: Tajinder Bagga To Contest From Hari Nagar Seat

According To The List Of 10 Candidates, State Yuva Morcha President Sunil Yadav Will Contest From The New Delhi Constituency Against Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Fayiq Wani | Updated on: 21 Jan 2020, 11:29:54 AM
The BJP has fielded Bagga against Aam Aadmi Party's Princess Dhillon.

The BJP has fielded Bagga against Aam Aadmi Party's Princess Dhillon. (Photo Credit: Twitter)

New Delhi:

The Bharatiya Janata Party on Tuesday released the second list for the upcoming Delhi assembly elections in which the party has fielded Tajinder Pal Bagga to contest from Hari Nagar constituency. This is seen as a big win for Bagga as he was trolled on Twitter after his name didn’t appear in the first list of 57 candidates released by the party.

The BJP announced its candidates on all four seats that traditionally went to its ally SAD in the previous Assembly elections in Delhi. According to the list of 10 candidates that came hours before the filing of nomination closes on Tuesday, state Yuva Morcha President Sunil Yadav will contest from the New Delhi constituency against Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal

Dharamvir Singh has been fielded from Kalkaji, former East Delhi deputy mayor Sanjay Goyal from Shahdara and Ramesh Khanma from Rajouri Garden.

The list also includes the names of BJP candidates Sumanlata Shokeen, who would content from Nangloi Jat, Ravindra Chaudhary from Kasturba Nagar, Kusum Khatri from Mehrauli and Anil Goyal from Krishna Nagar.

The BJP has left three seats for its alliance partners JD(U) and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP).

The JD(U) will contest from Burari and Sangam Vihar constituencies while LJP will fight from the Seemapuri seat.

BJP first list of 57 candidates

Last week, the BJP released its first list of 57 candidates the list, which was released by Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari, included sitting MLA Vijender Gupta, former AAP MLA Kapil Mishra and has 11 SC and four woman candidates. Gupta will again fight from his Rohini seat, while Mishra will contest from Model Town.

The ruling AAP has announced all its 70 candidates. The BJP had won only three assembly seats in the previous assembly elections, while the AAP had won 67. The elections will have triangular contest with the Congress being the third major player as political watchers believe that the BJP and Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP are likely to be the main rivals in most of the seats. The voting to elect the new Delhi assembly will take place on February 8 while the results will be out on February 11.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Jan 2020, 09:07:55 AM