News Nation Logo

Delhi Results 2020: Election Commission's Official Trends Show Both AAP, BJP Leading On 10 Seats Each

Delhi Results 2020: Delhi Voted In Single Phase On 70 Seats On February 8.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 11 Feb 2020, 10:00:52 AM
Election Commission of India Trends

Delhi Results 2020: The trends are changing rapidly. (Photo Credit: News Nation)

New Delhi:

Delhi Assembly Election Results 2020: While the newsrooms across India may have declared the trends for all 70 seats for the Delhi Assembly Elections, the Election Commission of has released the trends a short while ago. According to the poll panel’s official figures, trends of 20 seats are available. The poll panel shows both Aam Aadmi Party and the BJP leading on 10 seats each. The trend is changing rapidly. At time of publishing this story, trends of 36 seats went live on poll panel site. The AAP leading on 22, whereas BJP is leading on 14. In terms of voting percentage, AAP has got 49.61 per cent votes, whereas BJP has got 43.74 per cent votes. (LIVE UPDATES)

Delhi voted in single phase on 70 seats on February 8. However, there was lot of confusion over the voter turnout. Nearly 24 hours after the polling ended in Delhi, the Election Commission on Sunday announced that the final voter turnout was 62.59 per cent, five per cent less than 2015, and asserted that it followed the laid down process to compile data, after the AAP questioned the "delay".

Most exit polls also predicted that Congress is unlikely to open its account even this time in Delhi, which it ruled from 1998-2013.

Looking to capture power after 22 years, the BJP had mounted one of the most aggressive campaigns in the Delhi Assembly polls, with Union Home Minister Amit Shah leading the saffron charge on its planks of Hindutva and nationalism, and its strident opposition to Shaheen Bagh protests.

The issue often dominated the political discourse during the campaign, with many BJP leaders targeting the ruling AAP, and the Congress, accusing them of "misleading people" holding anti-CAA protests in Delhi.

A section of voters on Saturday claimed that the prolonged street agitation demanding revocation of the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) was “not an issue in the beginning of the campaign” but “political parties had slowly turned it into one”.

Ballimaran constituency recorded the highest voter turnout of 71.6 per cent among all the 70 assembly seats in the national capital, while Delhi Cantonment brought up the rear in polling percentage, according to data shared by officials on Sunday.

Okhla constituency recorded 58.84 per cent. Shaheen Bagh and Jamia Nagar fall in Okhla assembly constituency, where hectic polling had taken place till late afternoon. Shaheen Bagh has been the epicentre of anti-CAA protests in Delhi, running into over 50 days now. 

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Feb 2020, 09:39:56 AM