News Nation Logo

I Love You, Delhi, Thank You For Trusting Me As Your Son, Says Kejriwal In Emotional Victory Speech

I Love You, Delhi, Thank You For Trusting Me As Your Son, Says Kejriwal In Emotional Victory Speech

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 11 Feb 2020, 04:20:33 PM
Arvind Kejriwal

I love you, Delhi, thank you for trusting me as your son, says Kejriwal in emotional victory speech (Photo Credit: ANI/Twitter)

New Delhi:

Delhi Assembly Election Results 2020: Arvind Kejriwal struck an emotional chord as he delivered his victory speech at the Aam Aadmi Party headquarters in New Delhi on Tuesday. The incumbent AAP registered lead in early morning trends with the word go. As the day progressed, it was clear that the AAP was returning to power in Delhi with a thumping majority. At time of publishing this story, AAP was leading on 63 seats whereas the BJP was at distant second in the Delhi Assembly Elections. “Dilli walon ghazab kar diya aap logon ne! I love you (Dear Delhi, you did a miracle. I love you)," Kejriwal said. (LIVE UPDATES)

“Thank you for trusting me as your son. People of Delhi have given us so many seats, we have to work for them together. I can’t do it alone,” Kejriwal said. "It is the beginning of a new era, a new kind of politics," Kejriwal added.


On the day of polling, BJP leaders had made issue out of Kejriwal’s visit to famous Hanuman Temple located in CP. It seemed that Kejriwal had not forgotten Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari’s jibe. He said that Lord Hanuman had blessed the AAP victory on Mangalvar. In Hindu Mythology, Tuesday is considered as day of worshipping Lord Hanuman. Kejriwal concluded his victory speech with chants of ‘Bharat Maata Ki Jai’, ‘Inquilab Zindabad’ and ‘Vade Mataram’.

The Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party was on course to a landslide victory on Tuesday in the high-stakes Delhi Assembly polls, leaving the main rival BJP way behind and decimating the Congress in a bitterly-fought contest that took place in the midst of massive protests over the new citizenship law. The AAP was leading in 63 seats, the BJP in seven constituencies while the Congress drew a blank in the 70-member assembly, according to the latest vote tally. The AAP's stupendous victory comes nearly eight months after it suffered a severe drubbing in the Lok Sabha polls in which the party drew a blank while the BJP won all the seven seats.

Among the AAP heavyweights who won the elections after a nail-bitter included Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia, Ragav Chaddha and Atishi.  Delhi cabinet ministers Gopal Rai, Satyender Jain also were among prominent winners. Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal was leading in New Delhi Constituency by over 17,000 votes against his BJP rival Sunil Kumar Yadav.

The elections in the national capital took place in the midst of massive protests in the city and elsewhere over the new citizenship law, an issue which was strongly raised by the BJP top leadership during the campaigning which often turned bitter and vitriolic.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Feb 2020, 03:45:44 PM