News Nation Logo

Arvind Kejriwal's February 16 Oath-Taking Ceremony Only For People Of Delhi, No Invitation To Other Leaders: Gopal Rai

AAP Leader Gopal Rai On Thursday Asserted That No Chief Minister Or Political Leaders From Other States Will Be Invited For Arvind Kejriwal's Oath Ceremony In Delhi’s Ramlila Maidan.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 13 Feb 2020, 11:49:59 AM
Kejriwal Oath Ceremony

Kejriwal's Oath Ceremony Only For People Of Delhi, No Invitation To Other Leaders: Gopal Rai (Photo Credit: File Photo - PTI Image)

New Delhi:

Senior Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Gopal Rai on Thursday asserted that no chief minister or political leaders from other states will be invited for Arvind Kejriwal's oath ceremony in Delhi’s Ramlila Maidan. The statement from AAP’s senior leader comes a day after it was announced that AAP’s national convenor Arvind Kejriwal will take oath as Delhi Chief Minister on February 16.

Talking to the news agency PTI, Gopal Rai said, “Kejriwal will take oath as chief minister for a third term in a Delhi-specific ceremony.” "No chief minister or political leader from other states will be invited for the ceremony that is going to be specific to Delhi," he said adding that Kejriwal will take oath with the people of Delhi who have reposed their faith in his leadership.

The AAP returned to power winning 62 of the 70 assembly seats in the election held on February 8. Kejriwal held a meeting with newly-elected MLAs on Wednesday morning at his residence. The MLAs also elected him the leader of the legislature party, a formality necessary to stake claim to form the government. Earlier, Kejriwal also met Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal. The meeting lasted for around 15 minutes.

Also Read: Uddhav Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Aghadi Govt To Carry Out NPR Exercise In Maharashtra From May 1st: Sources

According to the sources, Arvind Kejriwal is likely to retain all the cabinet ministers who were part of his previous government. Manish Sisodia, Rajendra Pal Gautam, Satyendar Jain, Kailash Gahlot, Gopal Rai and Imran Hussain are likely to be retained in the new AAP government, the sources said. It is worth mentioning here that this will be the third time Kejriwal will be taking oath as Chief Minister.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 13 Feb 2020, 11:47:06 AM