News Nation Logo

Delhi Cantt Assembly Election Result: AAP's Virender Singh Kadian Defeats BJP's Manish Singh

AAP's Virender Singh Kadian Got 28,971 Votes While BJP's Manish Singh Got 18, 381 Votes.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Pawas Kumar | Updated on: 11 Feb 2020, 07:20:30 PM
Delhi Cantt Vidhan Sabha Seat

Virender Singh Kadian of Aam Aadmi Party is contesting from Delhi Cantt (Photo Credit: YouTube)

New Delhi:

Virender Singh Kadian of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won the Delhi Cantt Vidhan Sabha seat. Virender Singh Kadian defeated Manish Singh of the BJP by a margin of 10, 590 votes. Virender Singh Kadian got 28,971 votes while Manish Singh got 18, 381 votes. Interestingly, Surendra Singh, the incumbent AAP MLA, who contested as NCP candidate could get only 904 votes. Earlier, Surendra Singh was denied ticket by AAP.

Delhi Cantt constituency is a unique seat out of the 70 assembly constituencies of Delhi as it houses the Indian Army Headquarters. 26/11 hero Commando Surinder Singh had won this seat for Aam Aadmi Party in 2013 and 2015 assembly elections. However, this year Surinder is contesting as a candidate from NCP after being denied the ticket by AAP.

Arvind Kejriwal is set to return as chief minister for the third time as trends showed the party was set for a massive victory in the Delhi Assembly Elections 2020. The AAP was leading in 63 seats, the BJP in seven constituencies while the Congress drew a blank in the 70-member assembly, according to the latest tally. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) workers went into celebratory mode at the party headquarters on Tuesday as trends showed the party was set for a massive victory.

A total of 672 candidates, including 593 men and 79 women, were in the fray for the hotly contested, often divisive polls with the anti-CAA protests in Shaheen Bagh occupying centrestage towards the end of the campaign.

The elections in the national capital took place in the midst of massive protests in the city and elsewhere over the new citizenship law, the National Register of Citizens and the National Population Register. The BJP faced charges of carrying out a "divisive" campaign to polarise the voters by consistently highlighting the over 50-day demonstration by a group of women in Shaheen Bagh area. While BJP's campaign focused on national security issues, the AAP mainly focused on its achievements in the fields of education, healthcare and infrastructure.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Feb 2020, 02:21:12 PM