News Nation Logo

Sangam Vihar Election Results: Dinesh Mohaniya Of AAP Defeats JDU's Shiv Charan Lal Gupta

Live Delhi Election 2020 Result/Coverage: Counting Of Votes Polled In The High-stakes Delhi Assembly Election Began On Tuesday Morning Amid Tight Security At Various Centres Set Up To Carry Out The Exercise.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Fayiq Wani | Updated on: 11 Feb 2020, 05:43:23 PM
Live Delhi Election 2020 Result/Coverage

Live Delhi Election 2020 Result/Coverage: The Sangam Vihar seat voted on February 8, along with 69 other constituencies. (Photo Credit: File Photo)

New Delhi:

Dinesh Mohaniya of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has defeated JDU's Shiv Charan Lal Gupta from the Sangam Vihar Assembly constituency, according to the official result declared by the Election Commission. The Sangam Vihar seat voted on February 8, along with 69 other constituencies. Counting of votes polled in the high-stakes Delhi Assembly election began on Tuesday morning amid tight security at various centres set up to carry out the exercise. Sangam Vihar constituency came into existence in 2008 as a part of the implementation of the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission of India constituted in 2002. Sangam Vihar Assembly constituency is currently held by AAP's Dinesh Mohaniya. 

Dinesh Mohaniya contested Assembly elections against JDU candidate Shiv Charan Lal Gupta, and Congress' Poonam Azad. The BJP has given Sangam Vihar Assembly seat to JDU to woo the Purvanchali community in the Capital. Whereas, Poonam Azad is a wife of Kirti Azad, who heads the Congress election campaign committee. Both Gupta and Azad were in the BJP earlier.

The Aam Aadmi Party appeared to be heading back to power for a second term in Delhi with the party leading in 58 seats of the 70 and the BJP ahead in 12 as votes for last week’s assembly elections were counted, according to Election Commission figures.

The contest for political power over the national capital was a bipolar one with the Congress nowhere in the reckoning, according to initial trends.  

AAP supremo and Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal was leading in the New Delhi seat by 4,300 seats, while his deputy Manish Sisodia from Patparganj seat was ahead by 102 votes.

BJP leader Vijender Gupta, who is also leader of opposition in the Delhi legislative assembly, was trailing by over 1,200 votes from Rohini.

As early celebrations broke out in the AAP headquarters in Rouse Avenue, BJP’s Delhi unit chief Manoj Tiwari asked his party supporters not to lose hope.

“There are 27 seats where the difference of votes is between 700 to 1,000,” Tiwari told reporters.

Looking ahead at victory, he said he was not nervous and was ready to take on the responsibilities that a win would bring.

“All talk is over. We have to wait for the blessings of the people. I am confident it will be a good day for BJP. We are coming to power in Delhi today. Don’t be surprised if we win 55 seats,” Tiwari said.

Kejriwal, who had led his party to a spectacular win of 67 of 70 seats in 2015,

is expected to address party workers and the media later in the day. However, his party workers were upbeat and in celebratory mode.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Feb 2020, 02:21:39 PM