News Nation Logo

Uttam Nagar Assembly Constituency Results: Naresh Balyan Of Aam Aadmi Party Wins By 19759 Votes

Live Delhi Election 2020 Result/Coverage: Counting Of Votes Polled In The High-stakes Delhi Assembly Election Began On Tuesday Morning Amid Tight Security At Various Centres Set Up To Carry Out The Exercise.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Fayiq Wani | Updated on: 11 Feb 2020, 07:30:10 PM
Live Delhi Election 2020 Result/Coverage

Live Delhi Election 2020 Result/Coverage: Uttam Nagar Assembly seat is one of the main constituencies which falls under the West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency (Photo Credit: File Photo)

New Delhi:

Naresh Balyan of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won the Uttam Nagar Assembly constituency by a margin of 19759 votes, according to the official result data released by the Election Commission. Balyan defeated BJP's Krishan Gahlot to retain the seat, he had also won in the 2015 Assembly polls. The Uttam Nagar seat voted on February 8, along with 69 other constituencies. Counting of votes polled in the high-stakes Delhi Assembly election began on Tuesday morning amid tight security at various centres set up to carry out the exercise. Uttam Nagar Assembly seat is one of the main constituencies which falls under the West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency, which also comprises Dwarka, Janakpuri, Vikaspuri, Hari Nagar, Tilak Nagar, Madipur, Rajouri Garden, Matiala and Najafgarh.

In the last election held in 2015, AAP candidate Naresh Balyan had won the seat. The party has again fielded Naresh Balyan from Uttam Nagar this time. The Congress gave ticket to Shakti Kumar Bishnoi of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). Uttam Nagar is one of the four seats from where the RJD contested the Assembly seats in Delhi in alliance with the Congress. The BJP had fielded Krishan Gahlot from the seat.

The Aam Aadmi Party appeared to be heading back to power for a second term in Delhi with the party leading in 58 seats of the 70 and the BJP ahead in 12 as votes for last week’s assembly elections were counted, according to Election Commission figures.

The contest for political power over the national capital was a bipolar one with the Congress nowhere in the reckoning, according to initial trends.  

AAP supremo and Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal was leading in the New Delhi seat by 4,300 seats, while his deputy Manish Sisodia from Patparganj seat was ahead by 102 votes.

BJP leader Vijender Gupta, who is also leader of opposition in the Delhi legislative assembly, was trailing by over 1,200 votes from Rohini.

As early celebrations broke out in the AAP headquarters in Rouse Avenue, BJP’s Delhi unit chief Manoj Tiwari asked his party supporters not to lose hope.

“There are 27 seats where the difference of votes is between 700 to 1,000,” Tiwari told reporters.

Looking ahead at victory, he said he was not nervous and was ready to take on the responsibilities that a win would bring.

“All talk is over. We have to wait for the blessings of the people. I am confident it will be a good day for BJP. We are coming to power in Delhi today. Don’t be surprised if we win 55 seats,” Tiwari said.

Kejriwal, who had led his party to a spectacular win of 67 of 70 seats in 2015,

is expected to address party workers and the media later in the day. However, his party workers were upbeat and in celebratory mode.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Feb 2020, 02:08:32 PM