News Nation Logo

Karol Bagh Assembly Election Result: AAP's Vishesh Ravi Wins By 31, 760 Votes

In Karol Bagh Assembly Constituency, AAP's Vishesh Ravi Defeated Yogender Chandoliya Of The BJP By 31, 760 Votes.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Pawas Kumar | Updated on: 11 Feb 2020, 07:44:05 PM
Vishesh Ravi

Vishesh Ravi of Aam Aadmi Party is contesting from Karol Bagh seat (Photo Credit: Facebook)

New Delhi:

Vishesh Ravi of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won the Karol Bagh Vidhan Sabha seat. Ravi, who contested against Yogender Chandoliya of the BJP and Gourav Kumar of the Congress, got 67, 494 votes. Yogender Chandoliya got 35, 734 votes. Ravi defeated Yogender Chanoliya of the BJP by 31, 760 votes. Karol Bagh falls under New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. Meanwhile, the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party is on course for a resounding victory in the Delhi assembly elections to retain power for a third term on Tuesday.

Arvind Kejriwal is set to return as chief minister for the third time as trends showed the party was set for a massive victory in the Delhi Assembly Elections 2020.

The AAP was leading in 63 seats, the BJP in seven constituencies while the Congress drew a blank in the 70-member assembly, according to the latest tally. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) workers went into celebratory mode at the party headquarters on Tuesday as trends showed the party was set for a massive victory. A total of 672 candidates, including 593 men and 79 women, were in the fray for the hotly contested, often divisive polls with the anti-CAA protests in Shaheen Bagh occupying centrestage towards the end of the campaign. The elections in the national capital took place in the midst of massive protests in the city and elsewhere over the new citizenship law, the National Register of Citizens and the National Population Register. The BJP faced charges of carrying out a "divisive" campaign to polarise the voters by consistently highlighting the over 50-day demonstration by a group of women in Shaheen Bagh area. While BJP's campaign focused on national security issues, the AAP mainly focused on its achievements in the fields of education, healthcare and infrastructure.

The AAP had registered a sensational victory in 2015 by winning 67 seats in a hurricane march that almost wiped out the BJP and the Congress. Kejriwal is expected to address party workers and the media later in the day. However, his party workers were upbeat and in celebratory mode. "We have been saying since the beginning that the upcoming polls will be fought on the basis of work done by us... You wait and watch, we will register a massive win," AAP spokesperson Sanjay Singh told reporters.

The headquarters were decorated with blue and white balloons and big cutouts of Kejriwal were placed in different parts of the office. Counting centres are spread across 21 locations in 11 districts, including at the CWG Sports Complex in east Delhi, NSIT Dwarka in west Delhi, Meerabai Institute of Technology and G B Pant Institute of Technology in southeast Delhi, Sir CV Raman ITI, Dheerpur in central Delhi, and Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Bawana in north Delhi.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Feb 2020, 01:35:08 PM