News Nation Logo

New Delhi Assembly Election Result: Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal Wins By A Margin Of 21, 697 Votes

In New Delhi Assembly Constituency, AAP's Arvind Kejriwal Is Contesting Against BJP's Sunil Yadav And Romesh Sabharwal Of Congress.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Pawas Kumar | Updated on: 11 Feb 2020, 09:05:22 PM
Arvind Kejriwal

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal is contesting from New Delhi assembly seat (Photo Credit: PTI File)

New Delhi:

Delhi Chief Minister and AAP's national convenor Arvind Kejriwal won New Delhi assembly seat. He defeated BJP's Sunil Kumar Yadav by a margin of 21, 697 votes. Kejriwal got 46, 758 votes while Sunil Yadav got 25, 061 votes. Interestingly, this VVIP constituency has seen a maximum number of candidates contesting the polls. Apart from Kejriwal, 27 others are contesting from New Delhi.

Live Delhi Assembly Election Results: Trends, Results and Latest Updates

The counting of votes in the high-stakes Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 began on Tuesday morning amid tight security at various centres set up to carry out the exercise. Exit polls have predicted a big win for the ruling Aam Aadmi Party, but the Bharatiya Janata Party leaders maintained that the surveys would fall flat. The counting began at 8 am and will be held in multiple rounds, Delhi Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Ranbir Singh said.

"The counting centres are spread across 21 locations, spanning the 70 constituencies. Each centre has several counting halls, equal to the number of constituencies falling in that district," he said.

The counting centres are located across 11 districts, including at CWG Sports Complex in east Delhi, NSIT Dwarka in west Delhi, Meerabai Institute of Technology and G B Pant Institute of Technology in southeast Delhi, Sir CV Raman ITI, Dheerpur in central Delhi, and Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Bawana in north Delhi.

The election, largely seen as a battle between the AAP and the BJP, was held on Saturday, sealing the fate of 672 candidates -- 593 men and 79 women. Nearly 24 hours after the polling ended in Delhi, the Election Commission on Sunday announced that the final voter turnout was 62.59 per cent, five per cent less than 2015, and asserted that it followed the laid down process to compile data, after the AAP questioned the "delay". Over 1.47 crore people were eligible to vote in the Delhi polls, including 2.33 lakh in the age group of 18-19. The turnout in the 2015 Assembly polls stood at 67.47 per cent.

The AAP had routed rival parties in the last Assembly polls, bagging 67 seats while the BJP was reduced to mere three seats and the Congress had drawn a blank.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Feb 2020, 08:15:16 AM