News Nation Logo

Delhi Assembly Elections: 70-Seat Assembly Goes To Polls Today, Kejriwal's AAP Eyes Repeat Of 2015 Magic

Tight Security Arrangements Are In Place In Delhi With Security Forces Keeping An Extra Vigil In Shaheen Bagh And Other Sensitive Polling Areas.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 08 Feb 2020, 12:06:27 AM
Delhi Assembly Elections

There are 13,750 polling booths, besides one auxiliary booth, located at 2,689 locations across Delhi. (Photo Credit: PTI/File)

New Delhi:

The national capital votes on Saturday to elect a new government as poll authorities have geared up for the elections to the 70-member Delhi assembly. Over 1.47 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise. Polling will begin at 8 am and will end at 6 pm. Tight security arrangements are in place with security forces keeping an extra vigil in Shaheen Bagh and other sensitive polling areas.

In view of the ongoing anti-CAA protests in Shaheen Bagh, the Delhi CEO Office has put all five polling stations in the area under the ‘critical category, and confidence-building measures are continuously being undertaken to reassure voters, officials said.

Shaheen Bagh falls in the Okhla assembly constituency. The area has become the epicentre of protests against the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) in the national capital and the agitation has been thrust by political parties into a poll issue.

Tight security arrangments in place

The police have deployed around 40,000 security personnel, 19,000 home guards and 190 companies of Central Armed Police Forces to ensure smooth conduct of the polls. There are 13,750 polling booths, besides one auxiliary booth, located at 2,689 locations across Delhi.

“As far as critical polling stations are concerned, there are 516 locations and 3,704 booths in that category,” Singh said.

Besides police security, polling stations falling in the “critical category” get paramilitary cover. Activities will be monitored through webcasting, Singh said.

Police and election machinery are on “extra vigil” and assessing the situation all the time across the national capital, he added.

Security personnel kept guard at strong rooms storing EVMs. Election staff carried EVMs and other polling material to booths under tight supervision in all constituencies.

Delhi’s electorate

Delhi Chief Electoral Officer Ranbir Singh said 1,47,86,382 people are eligible to vote in the Delhi polls, and 2,32,815 are in the age group of 18-19.

Voters in various categories include males (81,05,236), females (66,80,277), service voters (11,608), third gender voters (869), and senior citizens (aged 80 and above) voters (2,04,830), officials said.

Campaign for the Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 ended on Thursday in which the BJP pulled no punches against the AAP which is eyeing another term in office. The Congress is the third main force in the contest in which 672 candidates are in the fray for 70 assembly seats.

Aam Aadmi Party eyes 2015 magic

The ruling Aam Aadmi Party is going into the Delhi election with the hope to repeat its stellar performance of the last assembly polls, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which bagged all seven seats here in the Lok Sabha election in May 2019, will be aiming at expanding its vote share in the national capital.

The Congress is seeking to better its performance than last time when it did not bag any seat in the Assembly polls but improved its vote share in 2019 polls.

The AAP had got 54.3 per cent votes in the 2015 Assembly polls, while the BJP secured 32 per cent and the Congress bagged just 9.6 per cent of the total votes polled.

ALSO READ | Delhi Assembly Polls: Who To Vote? Three Som Dutts, Two 'Imran Khans' In Fray

The BJP mounted its one of the most aggressive campaigns in the Delhi Assembly polls so far, with Union Home Minister Amit Shah leading the saffron charge fuelled by its planks of Hindutva and nationalism and its strident opposition to anti-CAA protest in Shaheen Bagh.

On the other hand, the AAP tried to hard sell its development agenda, while the Congress sought to showcase its achievements during its 15-year rule under Sheila Dikshit from 1998 to 2013.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Delhi Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 07 Feb 2020, 11:51:57 PM