News Nation Logo


Gujarat Bypoll Results: Alpesh Thakor's Move From Congress To BJP Backfires

Gujarat Assembly Bypoll Results 2019: Over 600 Government Employees And Officers Have Been Deployed To Conduct The Exercise Which Will Begin At 8 Am In Respective Constituencies Spread Across Six Districts.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Fayiq Wani | Updated on: 24 Oct 2019, 07:56:55 PM
Counting of votes for the byelections held on October 21 for the six Assembly constituencies in Gujarat will be taken up shortly.

New Delhi:

Counting of votes for the byelections held on October 21 for the six Assembly constituencies in Gujarat will be taken up shortly. Over 600 government employees and officers have been deployed to conduct the exercise which will begin at 8 am in respective constituencies spread across six districts, stated a release issued by Gujarat Chief Electoral Officer S. Murali Krishna on Wednesday. A voter turnout of 53.67 per cent was recorded in the byelections held for Tharad seat in Banaskantha district, Radhanpur in Patan, Kheralu in Mehsana, Bayad in Arvalli, Amraiwadi in Ahmedabad and Lunawada in Mahisagar district.

Here are all the LIVE updates:

BJP nominee Alpesh Thakor loses from Radhapur

OBC leader and BJP candidate Alpesh Thakor on Thursday lost the byelection to Radhanpur Assembly seat in Gujarat. Congress’ Raghubhai Desai defeated Thakor by over 3,500 votes.

The Congress won two seats while the BJP bagged one seat on Thursday out of six Assembly bypolls in Gujarat, as per per the results announced by the Election Commission so far.

In the remaining three seats, the Congress was leading in two seats while the BJP was ahead in one seat. Congress candidate Jashu Patel defeated BJP’s Dhavalsinh Zala in Bayad seat of Arvalli district by a margin of over 700 votes. 

Gujarat Bypoll Result: Trends

1. Bharatiya Janata Party: PATEL JIVRAJBHAI JAGTABHAI leads in Tharad

2. Indian National Congress: Desai Raghubhai Merajbhai leads in Radhanpur

3. Bharatiya Janata Party: Ajmalji Valaji Thakor leads in Kheralu

4. Indian National Congress: PATEL JASHUBHAI SHIVABHAI leads in Bayad

5. Indian National Congress: PATEL DHARMENDRA SHANTILAL (DHAMBHAI) leads in Amraiwadi

6. Bharatiya Janata Party: Jigneshkumar Sevak leads in Lunawada

The Congress is now leading on four seats while the ruling BJP is ahead on two seats.

In Radhanpur (Patan district), OBC leader and BJP candidate Alpesh Thakor is trailing behind Congress' Raghu Desai by over 8,700 votes.

In Bayad (Arvalli), BJP candidate Dhavalsinh Zala is trailing behind Congress' Jashu Patel by over 700 votes. Sensing defeat, Zala left the counting centre and even accepted his defeat.

Due to technical glitches in two EVMs, VVPAT slips are being counted in Bayad.

In Amraiwadi seat of Ahmedabad, Congress' Dharmendra Patel is leading over BJP's Jagdish Patel by 4,200 votes.

Gujarat Bypoll Result: Trends

BJP: 03

Congress: 03

Congress comfortably leading in Bayad seat by-poll. Alpesh Thakor's top aide and BJP candidate Dhavalsinh Zala trailing. Close fight in Radhanpur between BJP candidate Alpesh Thakor and rival Congress candidate Raghu Desai.BJP leading in other 4 seats.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Gujarat Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Oct 2019, 08:05:49 AM