News Nation Logo


Gujarat election results 2017 updates: PM Modi credits 'VIKAS' for BJP's victory

Gujarat Assembly Election Results 2017 Updates: The Gujarat Election Results Shall Be A Litmus Test For Both Congress President Rahul Gandhi And PM Modi. Exit Polls Have Predicted BJP's Victory But Congress Claims The Gujarat Election Results Will Shock The BJP.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 18 Dec 2017, 09:31:27 PM

New Delhi:

The counting of votes for 182 assembly seats in Gujarat is underway. The 'battle of Gujarat' between Congress and BJP will come to an end later in the evening and it shall be clear as to which party has the numbers to form the government in the state.

As per the early trends exhibited by News Nation, the BJP holds the slender advantage over its arch rival Congress,  leading in its traditional strong vote bases of North and Central Gujarat. However it is a neck to neck fight btw the two rivals in Saurashtra and Kutch regions.Congress looks to have made significant inroads into the BJP pie in the rural ares of Gujarat.

Will people of Gujarat break up with Modi and end the 22-year-old relationship with BJP? Or Will they take Prime Minister a step closer to achieve his "Congress Mukta bharat" dream?

News Nation brings you all the live action and updates on Gujarat Assembly Election 2017 results here: 

# 9:25 PM: Results declared for all the 182 seats - BJP wins 99 seats, Congress wins 77, 1 seat won by NCP. Bhartiya Tribal Party and Independent wins 2 and 3 seats respectively.

# 6: 40 PM: 30 years back, poison of caste was spread so badly in Gujarat that it took workers like me 30 years to get rid of it. In last few months there were attempts again to sow seeds of casteism, but people rejected it,I congratulate them, but ppl must be alert

# 6:39 PM: After 2014, there is hunger for development. Even if you do not like BJP, do not try to derail the progress being made towards development

# 6: 38 PM: For me, Gujarat polls are a matter of double joy. I am so happy that after I left the state, my colleagues there continued the good work. 

# 6:38 PM: BJP won all the seats it contested in 1989 Lok Sabha polls. We won most of the seats we contested in 1990. In 1995, in 1998, in 2002, in 2007 and in 2012 we won. We won most seats in Lok Sabha polls too.

# 6:38 PM: Elections results have proven that the country is ready for reform and is looking towards things that perform in a positive way and believes in transformation

# 6:37 PM: For me Gujarat win is a reason for double happiness. So many conspiracies were hatched in Gujarat by Congress, misinformation was being spread. People cannot bear if anyone makes fun of 'vikas'

# 6:36 PM: Continuous win is a study for election experts. They see it like an accident. Gujarat is an exception. We are winning from last 30 years.

# 6:35 PM: Country is for ready for reform

# 6: 34 PM: I thank people Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh

PM Modi addresses  at BJP Delhi headquarters

# BJP President Amit Shah felicitate PM Narendra Modi at BJP HQ in Delhi as party celebrates Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh win 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrived at BJP HQ in Delhi, received by BJP President Amit Shah 

BJP gets majority in Gujarat, says Election Commission tally

# BJP's win in Gujarat a moral defeat for the party. It is  face-saving wing, says West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banarjee

Congress President Rahul Gandhi tweets, "My Congress brothers and sisters, you have made me very proud. You are different than those you fought because you fought anger with dignity. You have demonstrated to everyone that the Congress’s greatest strength is its decency and courage."

# 4: 32 pm: We are confident that when we go into 2019 elections under the leadership of PM Modi we will once again get people's support.

# 4:32 pm: This is a victory of development over dynasty and polarisation.

# 4:31 pm: Congress big names lost their seats in Gujarat.

# 4:30 pm: I offer heartfelt gratitude to the people of Gujarat and Hiamchal Pradesh that they gave us anther opportunity to serve them.

# 4:30 pm: We have once again emerged triumphant.

# BJP Chief addresses Press Conference



# 3:20 PM Latest trends: BJP at 98, Congress+ at 81, NCP at 1 and others 1 #GujaratResults

# 3:15 PM

There has been tampering in EVMs in Surat,Rajkot and Ahmedabad, hence the gap is very less wherever tampering happened. EVMs are hackable: Hardik Patel

# 03:00 PM

"I express my gratitude to the people of Vadgam for all their support. Now I will raise the voice of Gujarat's discriminated sections in the assembly," says who is leading by 19696 votes from Vadgam

# 12:15 PM Dalit leader Jignesh Mevani wins from Vadgam constituency

# 12:00 PM Congress's Arjun Modhwadiya loses from Porbandar to BJP's Babubhai Bokhiriya by 1855 votes

# 11:22 AM EC Official trends: BJP leading on 101 seats, Congress on 74, Bhartiya Tribal Party on 2, NCP on 1 & Independent candidates on 3 seats. #GujaratElection2017 #GujaratVerdict

#11:20 AM Gujarat CM Vijay Rupani  wins from Rajkot West

# 11:15 AM

 Party workers celebrate at party HQ, as trends indicate BJP's victory in both Gujarat & Himachal Pradesh

# 11:05 AM

 Gujarat Verdict Independent candidate Jignesh Mevani leading by 10785 in Vadgam

#10:46 AM BJP gains sizeable lead as per trends, ahead in 107 seats

#10:40 AM EC Official Trends for #GujaratElection2017: BJP ahead on 98 seats, Congress leading on 70.

#10:37 AM BJP’s Rakesh Shah wins by 70,000 votes from Ahmedabad

# 10:03 AM

"The mood of the people of Gujarat will lead Congress to victory, can't comment much on initial trends; let the final results come" says state party in-charge Ashok Gehlot as counting continues

# 9:45 AM Sensex Sinks 850 Points As Early Leads Indicate Close Fight Between BJP, Congress In Gujarat

# 9:40 AM EC Official Trends for #GujaratElection2017: BJP leading on 56 seats, Congress ahead on 50. NCP & Bhartiya Tribal Party also enter the fray with lead on 1 seat each.

#9:25 AM Neck to neck fight btw the BJP and Cong, both parties lead in 86 leads

#9:12 AM Election Commision early trends shows BJP leading in 10, Congress in 13 

#9:07 AM Election Commision early trends shows BJP leading in 17, Congress in 18 

#9:00 AM Gujarat CM Vijay Rupani trails from Gujarat West

#8:58 AM Congress recovers some lost ground, leading in 70 seats (as per trends)

#8:54 AM BJP attains majority mark in early trends, ahead in 92 seats

#BJP crosses the 90 seat mark in early trends, looks good to claim majority

#8:40 AM BJP leads in 82 of the 134 seats 

#8:40 AM Guj Dy CM Nitin Patel trails from Mahesana

#8:35 AM Gujarat CM Vijay Rupani leading from Gujarat West

#8:32 AM BJP surges ahead in early trends, leads in 62 seats out of 98 seats

#8:30 AM BJP leads in 50 seats in early trends

#8:06 AM

Tight security arrangements have been made, police personnel adequately stationed across the region, says Surat police commissioner Satish Kumar Sharma

#8:05 AM

#8:00 AM

Counting of votes for 182 assembly seats in high stake Gujarat begins  

#7:50 AM

#7:45 AM

#7:30 AM

#7:10 AM

#6:15 AM

Welcome to Congress workers monitoring strong rooms where EVMs, VVPATs are kept, ahead of the counting of votes. (Yesterday Visuals)

#6:00 AM

Hello and welcome to the News Nation live coverage of Gujarat Assembly election 2017 results. The counting of votes for the high stake Gujarat assembly will begin at 8 AM. Early trends will start coming from 8:15 AM.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Gujarat Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 18 Dec 2017, 06:33:11 AM