News Nation Logo


Gujarat elections 2017: BJP releases sixth list of 34 candidates

The BJP On Friday Released Its Fifth List Of 13 Candidates For The Upcoming Elections To The 182-member Gujarat Legislative Assembly, Dropping Two Sitting MLAs.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Neha Singh | Updated on: 27 Nov 2017, 11:55:09 AM

New Delhi:

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday announced the sixth list of 34 candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in Gujarat. So far, the BJP has announced candidates for 182 seats.

The polls are to be held in two phases on December 9 and 14. The result of the election would be declared on December 18.

The BJP on Friday released its fifth list of 13 candidates for the upcoming elections, dropping two sitting MLAs. 

The list figures Bhupendrabhai Patel who will fight from the Ghatlodia seat. Bhupendrabhai Patel is said to be a close aide of former Gujarat chief minister Anandiben Patel.

Prahlad Patel, who had joined the BJP ahead of the Rajya Sabha polls after resigning as Congress MLA, did not get a ticket from Vijapur constituency in Mehsana which he represented. The BJP has fielded Ramanbhai Patel from the seat.

Of these 13 seats in central and north Gujarat, seven were held by the Congress, including Vijapur. The BJP has so far named candidates for 148 seats out of 182.

Among the candidates named are Gujarati actor Hitesh Kanodiya and BJP MP Prabhatsinh Chauhans daughter-in- law Suman Pravinsinh Chauhan.

Amit Chaudhary, who resigned as Congress MLA after allegedly cross voting in favour of the BJP candidate during the RS polls, has been given ticket for Manasa seat in Gandhinagar which he represented in the outgoing assembly.

The BJP has retained four of its sitting MLAs - Ranchhod Rabari (Patan), Narayan Patel (Unjha), Vallabh Kakadiya (Thakkarbapa Nagar) and Pankaj Desai (Nadiad).

The party has dropped Laljibhai Koli Patel, its MLA from Dhandhuka seat in Ahmedabad. He has been replaced by local leader Kalubhai Dabhi.

For Idar (SC) seat, the BJP has fielded actor Hitesh Kanodiya. Gujarat Assembly Speaker Ramanlal Vora had won this seat in 2012. However, the party has now fielded Vora from Dasada (SC) seat. For Kaalol seat in Panchmahal district, the ruling party dropped sitting MLA Arvindsinh Chauhan and chose Suman Pravinsinh Chauhan.

Eighty nine seats of Saurashtra and South Gujarat region are going to polls in the first phase, while the remaining 93 seats in central and northern region would go to polls in the second phase.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Gujarat Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Nov 2017, 10:56:27 AM