News Nation Logo

Haryana Polls: BJP's First Candidates List Out, Fields ML Khattar From Karnal, Babita Phogat From Dadri

Haryana BJP President Subhash Barala Will Contest From Tohana, Captain Abhimanyu From Narnod And Om Prakash Dhankar From Badli, Singh Said.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 30 Sep 2019, 05:35:23 PM
Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar and wrestler Babita Phogat.

New Delhi:

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday released its list of 78 candidates for the Haryana Assembly elections, fielding Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar from Karnal. The party has also given tickets to a number of noted sportspersons who had joined it in recent weeks with wrestler Babita Phogat, former Indian hockey captain Sandeep Singh, Olympic medallist Yogeshwar Dutt contesting from Dadri, Pehowa and Baroda respectively, its national general secretary Arun Singh told reporters in New Delhi.

He said the party's central election committee, which had met on Sunday, has repeated 38 MLAs and dropped seven of them for the polls to the 90-member assembly. Khattar had won from Karnal seat in 2014.

Haryana BJP president Subhash Barala will contest from Tohana, Captain Abhimanyu from Narnod and Om Prakash Dhankar from Badli, Singh said.

Former Union minister and Jat leader Birender Singh's MLA wife will contest from Uchana Kalan, a seat she had won in 2014. The candidates include nine women and two Muslims.

The party also fielded BJP chief Subhash Barala from Tohana, wrestlers Babita Phogat and Yogeshwar Dutt from Dadri and Baroda respectively.

The Haryana elections  will be held on October 21 and results will be announced on October 24.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Haryana Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 30 Sep 2019, 05:35:23 PM