News Nation Logo

Former Indian Hockey Captain Sandeep Singh, Akali MLA Balkaur Singh To Join BJP Today

Former Captain Of Indian Hockey Team And Penalty Corner Specialist, Sandeep Singh Is Expected To Join BJP On Thursday In New Delhi’s Haryana Bhawan.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Mohit Pandey | Updated on: 26 Sep 2019, 03:12:48 PM
Sandeep Singh is expected to join BJP today. (Photo: Sandeep Singh's Instagram page)

New Delhi:

Former captain of Indian Hockey Team and penalty corner specialist, Sandeep Singh is expected to join BJP on Thursday in New Delhi’s Haryana Bhawan. Haryana BJP president Subash Barala is likely to be present in the ceremony. Shiromani Akali Dal MLA, Balkaur Singh may also switch over to the BJP. Sandeep Singh who is also known as ‘Flicker Singh’ hails from Haryana’s Kurukshetra. Singh currently holds a DSP rank in the Haryana Police. He made his international debut on January 2004 in Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in Kuala Lumpur. He took over as the captain of the Indian national team in January 2009. Balkaur Singh, who is also a member Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC), is a first-time legislator. He is the lone MLA of the Shiromani Akali Dal in Haryana. 

Another Haryana athlete, wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt is also likely to join the BJP and is expected to be fielded in Haryana Assembly elections next month. 

Yogeshwar Dutt won a bronze at the 2012 London Olympics and was awarded the Padma Shri in 2013. He also won a gold medal in the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Dutt met with senior leaders at the party headquarters, said BJP Haryana president Subhash Barala. He is reported to have informed Barala that he has submitted his resignation from Haryana Police.

Moreover, wrestler Babita Phogat has joined the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) days ahead of state assembly elections. Speculations are rife that Babita may contest in the upcoming Haryana polls on a BJP ticket. Babita's resignation from her post as Inspector in Haryana police has been accepted. She had resigned on 13th August this year. 

The voting for Haryana Assembly Election will be held on October 21 and counting of votes will take place on October 24.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Haryana Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 Sep 2019, 03:12:48 PM