News Nation Logo

Haryana: BJP Set To Form Govt Again As Gopal Kanda, Independents Extend Support

Haryana: BJP Set To Form Govt Again As Gopal Kanda, Independents Extend Support

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Pawas Kumar | Updated on: 25 Oct 2019, 03:13:20 PM
Haryana: BJP set to form govt again as Gopal Kanda, Independents extend support

New Delhi:

Haryana Lokhit Party leader Gopal Kanda has announced on Friday that he and all seven Independent MLAs will extend support to formation of BJP government in state.

BJP, who won 40 out of 90 seats in Haryana assembly elections this year, is six short of the majority figure. The Congress won 31 seats, Dushyant Chautala's Jannayak Janta Party (JJP) has 10 and Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) have won just one seat.

Speaking to mediapersons in Delhi, Kanda said he, along with the Independents, had decided to extend “unconditional” support to the BJP.

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar reached Delhi’s Haryana Bhawan on Friday and met BJP working president JP Nadda. Khattar also met BJP's Haryana in-charge Anil Jain and some of the Independent MLAs.  Rania MLA Ranjit Singh, who is the brother of former Chief Minister Om Prakash Chautala, was also present in Haryana Bhawan and announced his support for the BJP. Prithla MLA Nayan Pal Rawat and Dadri MLA Sombir also extended their support to media.

Five of the seven Independents among the winners in Haryana are BJP rebels and contested on their own after they were denied tickets. 

Here are the eight MLAs who have expected to have supported to BJP: 

1. Gopal Kanda (Sirsa)

2. Sombir Sangwan (Dadri)

3. Dharam Pal Gonder (Nilokheri) 

4. Randhir Singh Gollen (Pundri)

5. Balraj Kundu (Meham)

6. Ranjit Singh (Rania)

7. Rakesh Daultabad (Badshahpur)

8. Nayan Pal Rawat (Prithla)

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Haryana Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Oct 2019, 12:43:25 PM