News Nation Logo

Haryana Election Results 2019: Star BJP Candidates Sonali Phogat, Yogeshwar Dutt Lose

Bishnoi, The Younger Son Of Former Chief Minister Bhajan Lal, Had Maintained A Comfortable Lead Over Phogat, Contesting Her First Election.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 24 Oct 2019, 02:57:46 PM
Sonali Phogat was contesting from Adampur Assembly constituency.

New Delhi :

In a huge shock for the Bharatiya Janata Party, its star campaigner Sonali Phogat lost from Adampur Assembly constituency. Bishnoi defeated the Tik Tok star by a margin of 29,471 votes in his stronghold. 

Bishnoi, the younger son of former chief minister Bhajan Lal, had maintained a comfortable lead over Phogat, contesting her first election.

Bishnoi's elder brother Chander Mohan, also a Congress candidate, had a slender margin of 29 votes over BJP's sitting MLA Gian Chand Gupta from Panchkula constituency, as per trends made available by the Election Commission.

Meanwhile, wrestler-turned-politician Yogeshwar Dutt of the BJP has lost from Baroda constituency in Sonipat. He was defeated by Sri Krishan Hooda. 

If current trends hold, BJP (38) is little ahead of Congress (32) in Haryana but none are in a position to form the Government on their own. JJP is leading in 10, while Independent (6), as counting progresses for the 90-member Assembly.

Asked about which party the JJP give support, he said: "It's too early to say anything. We will first summon a meeting of our MLAs, decide who would be our leader in the House and then take it further."

Dushyant Chautala took a swipe at the Bharatiya Janata Party's "Mission 75", saying the saffron party would fall way short of their target. "People of Haryana want change," he told reporters.

Meanwhile, Khattar has attained a comfortable lead over his nearest Congress rival from the Karnal constituency.

In what appears to be a setback to the BJP, seven of its ministers, assembly Speaker and state party chief are trailing.

The ministers include Ram Bilas Sharma, Capt Abhimanyu, O P Dhankar, Kavita Jain, Krishan Lal Panwar, Manish Grover, Krishan Kumar Bedi.

Speaker Kanwar Pal, a BJP legislator from Jagadhri, and state BJP president Subhash Barala, who is seeking re-election from Tohana, are also trailing, according to the trends.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Haryana Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Oct 2019, 02:11:27 PM