News Nation Logo

Hemant Soren Likely To Be Sworn In As Jharkhand CM On Dec 28, Cabinet Gets Final Touches

News Nation Has Learnt That According To The Discussion So Far, The Hemant Soren Cabinet Will Have 12 Ministers.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 24 Dec 2019, 03:45:15 PM
Hemant Soren won both the seats -- Dumka and Barhait -- in the assembly elections by big margins.

Hemant Soren won both the seats -- Dumka and Barhait -- in the assembly elections by big margins. (Photo Credit: PTI Photo)

New Delhi:

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha working president Hemant Soren, who recorded a stellar performance in the just-concluded Assembly Elections, is likely to be sworn in as the Chief Minister on December 28, sources told News Nation on Tuesday. People in know of the crucial development told News Nation that the functionaries are looking for a right ‘muhurat’ or time for the swearing-in ceremony. Some say that December 27 is also seen as a likely date of the key ceremony. However, the decision will be taken after consulting the pundits. The formula of the Jharkhand Cabinet of the coalition government is also getting final touches.

News Nation has learnt that according to the discussion so far, the Hemant Soren Cabinet will have 12 ministers. JMM, which emerged as single largest party in the state, will get the quota of six ministers in the government. The Congress will have five ministers whereas the RJD will have 1 ministerial berth. Sources say that the Grand Old Party will also get the post of the Assembly Speaker. The swearing-in ceremony will take place at Morabadi Maidan of Ranchi.

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)-led three-party alliance stormed to power in the eastern state on Monday, ousting the BJP in yet another state in the Hindi heartland after the saffron party's stupendous performance in the Lok Sabha elections, a development that could have profound implications for the country.

The Raghubar Das government's feat of providing a stable government that lasted a full five-year term in a state where chief ministers changed faster than seasons did not cut ice with the electorate which decided to repose faith in a coalition that fought over seats and broke up five years ago.

Contesting the state assembly elections alone for the first time sans long-standing ally the AJSU Party, the ruling BJP bagged 25 seats, five less than the JMM which led the table, clinching 30 in the 81-member House. Das tendered his resignation and accepted defeat.

"I met Governor Droupadi Murmu and submitted my resignation. The governor asked me to be caretaker CM till the new government is formed," he told reporters outside Raj Bhavan, with defeat staring him in the face in his pocket borough of Jamshedpur (East) seat. Saryu Roy, his suave opponent, a BJP rebel contesting as an Independent, clinched his seat. Roy, a former state minister, had thrown his hat into the ring after being denied a ticket to contest the adjoining Jamshedpur (west) seat.

The BJP, which had posted a spectacular victory in the Lok Sabha election in the middle of the year, was yet to score a convincing triumph in an assembly election since.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Jharkhand Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Dec 2019, 11:29:39 AM