News Nation Logo

Hemant Soren To Take Oath As Jharkhand CM Today, Rahul Gandhi, Mamata Banerjee To Attend Ceremony

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Former President Pranab Mukherjee, Chief Ministers Mamata Banerjee And Uddhav Thackeray, Congress Leaders Rahul Gandhi And Priyanka Gandhi Are Among Those Invited.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Fayiq Wani | Updated on: 29 Dec 2019, 08:33:51 AM
Jharkhand Governor Droupadi Murmu will administer the oath of office to chief minister-designate Hemant Soren at 2 pm on December 29.

New Delhi:

Jharkhand Governor Droupadi Murmu will administer the oath of office to chief minister-designate Hemant Soren at 2 pm on December 29. "Governor Droupadi Murmu will administer the oath to Hemant Soren as chief minister at 2 pm on December 29 at Morabadi Ground (in Ranchi)," a communique said. Soren had called on the governor at the Raj Bhavan on December 24 to stake claim to form the government and submitted a letter of support of 50 MLAs to her.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, former president Pranab Mukherjee, chief ministers Mamata Banerjee and Uddhav Thackeray, Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi are among those invited to Jharkhand chief minister-designate Hemant Sorens swearing-in ceremony.

The others invited to the programme to be held at the sprawling Mohrabadi grounds are Congress leader P Chidambaram, Ahmed Patel, NCP chief Sharad Yadav, SP leader Akhilesh Yadav and BSP supremo Mayawati, JMM general secretary Supriyo Bhattacharya said here on Friday. Chief ministers of Rajasthan, Chhatisgarh Madhya Pradesh and Delhi Ashok Gehlot, Bhupesh Baghel, Kamalnath and Arvind Kejriwal respectively have also been invited.

PM Modi has, however, expressed his inability to attend the ceremony due to his busy schedule The Prime Minister extended good wishes and assured Hemant Sorenji that he will visit Jharkhand when he gets time. We will welcome him, Bhattacharya told a press conference.

The JMM-Congress-RJD alliance stormed to power in Jharkhand on December 23, ousting the BJP in yet another state in the Hindi heartland after the saffron party’s stupendous performance in the Lok Sabha elections.

The three-party alliance bagged 47 seats in the 81-member state Assembly. The JMM won 30 seats, Congress 16 and the RJD one. JVM(P), with its three MLAs, has extended ‘unconditional support’ to Soren to form the government. The BJP clinched 25 seats, AJSU Party two, the CPI-ML(Liberation) and the NCP one each and others two.

The results of the election, which was held in five phases between November 30 and December 20, was announced on December 23.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Jharkhand Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 29 Dec 2019, 07:48:48 AM