News Nation Logo

Independent Candidate Saryu Rai Leading With Over 700 Votes From Jamshedpur East, CM Raghubar Das Trails

Saryu Roy’s Presence Made Things Tough For Das As He Couldn’t Focus On The Campaign In The State That He Was Leading.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 23 Dec 2019, 01:15:46 PM
Independent candidate Saryu Roy and incumbent Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das.

New Delhi:

Incumbent Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das is facing a tough fight in Jamshedpur East constituency. His former cabinet colleague and Independent candidate Saryu Roy is leading with over 700 votes. Das has won from this assembly seats five times. He first grabbed the seat in 1995. He had secured over 60 percent of votes in the last state elections.

Saryu Roy’s presence made things tough for Das as he couldn’t focus on the campaign in the state that he was leading. On the other hand, Roy, former cabinet colleague of Das, focussed on corruption in the incumbent government.

Meanwhile, ruling BJP is leading in 22 of the 62 constituencies in the 81-seat Jharkhand Assembly, early trends of which were available on Monday. Opposition JMM is leading in 19 seats, followed by the Congress in nine, the RJD in five and BSP and AJSU Party in two each. Counting for the five-phase Assembly elections in the state is underway.

Among the seats that the BJP is leading are Baghmara, Barhi, Bishunpur, Dumka, Chandankiyari, Jamshedpur (West), Pakur, Panki, Potka, Simdega, Torpa, Hazaribagh. Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das is leading in Jamshedpur (East) seat over independent candidate Saryu Roy by 342 votes.

The JMM is leading in Shikaripara, Gumla, Sisai, Chaibasa, Borio, Chakradharpur and Ichagarh seats. JMM working president Hemant Soren is leading from Barhait over BJP's Simon Malto by 664 votes and is trailing in Dumka seat by 6,329 votes.

The seats where the Congress is leading are Bermo, Jagannathpur and Bokaro while the RJD is leading in Chatra, Chattarpur and Godda constituencies.

The BSP is leading in Bishrampur and Hussainabad seats while the AJSU Party is leading in Gomia constituency.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Jharkhand Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 Dec 2019, 12:42:49 PM