News Nation Logo


LS Speaker Sumitra Mahajan accepts resignations of BS Yeddyurappa, B Sriramulu as members of Parliament

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 22 May 2018, 07:58:07 PM
Yeddyurappa, Sriramulu's resignation as members of parliament accepted (File Photo)

New Delhi:

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Tuesday accepted the resignations of BJP leaders BS Yeddyurappa and B Sriramulu as the members of Parliament.

Yeddyurappa and Sriramulu resigned from the Shivamogga and Bellary parliamentary constituencies following their election to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly on Friday, according to Lok Sabha Secretariat sources.

Both the BJP leaders had submitted their resignations a day before the floor test, ordered by the Supreme Court to check the majority of the day-old Yeddyurappa government in the Karnataka hung assembly.

While Yeddyurappa, the chief ministerial candidate of the BJP, won from the Shikharipura assembly seat, Sriramulu had registered victory from the Molakalmuru. Sriramulu had also contested from Badami but lost to Congress's chief ministerial candidate Siddaramaiah.

Read | How a googly ‘made in Andhra Pradesh’ stopped BJP in Karnataka

The BJP emerged as the sigle largest party in the Karnataka Assembly Elections but fell short of 8 seats from the majority mark of 112. The Congress and the Janta Dal-Secular bagged 78 and 37 seats respectively and further forged an alliance to form the government in the southern state.

Yeddyurappa resigned before the trust vote on May 19, following which Governor Vajubhai Vala invited JD-S leader HD Kumaraswamy to take the oath as the chief minister of Karnataka.

Read | Bribe tape against BJP fake, says Congress lawmaker Shivaram Hebbar

Kumaraswamy, who has the backing of the Congress, will be sworn in as the Karnataka chief minister on Wednesday. Earlier, the oath-taking ceremony was scheduled to take place on May 21 but was postponed to May 23 due to former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi's death anniversary on Monday.

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Karnataka Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 22 May 2018, 07:40:32 PM