News Nation Logo


Karnataka Assembly elections 2018: EC orders re-poll at a booth in Hebbal assembly constituency Live

Voting Is Being Held In 222 Of The 224-member Karnataka Assembly After Election Countermanded In Two Constituencies.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 12 May 2018, 07:06:56 PM
Karnataka Assembly elections 2018 LIVE Updates: Voting begins (PTI Photo)

New Delhi:

After a high-voltage election campaign, people of Karnataka will decide whether Congress' Siddaramaiah retains power or BJP's BS Yeddyurappa will once again govern the state, as they come out to vote on Saturday.

Voting is being held in 222 of the 224-member Karnataka Assembly after elections countermanded in two constituencies. In Jayanagar, the elections countermanded following the death of BJP candidate and sitting MLA BN Vijaykumar and in Rajrajeshwari Nagar after the voter ID card scandal.

While 2,948 candidates had contested the 2013 polls, almost 2,600 candidates are in the fray for 2018 Assembly polls in Karnataka. At least 4.97 crore people are eligible to exercise their right to vote.

LIVE Updates:

#06:50 PM: Total turnout figure received so far is 70%: Election Commission.

#06:38 PM: Except few polling stations, where people are still standing in the line and voting, polling has been completed in almost all polling stations: Election Commission.

#06:32 PM: EVMs and VVPATs being sealed at polling booth No. 37, 38, 39 in Gandhi Nagar constituency.

#06:15 PM: Polling booth No.s 142, 143 and 144 in 's Tippu Nagar were closed at 6:00 pm.

#06:00 PM: 64% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm.

#05:45 PM: Karnataka Elections 2018: Re-polling to take place in Hebbal assembly constituency's Polling Station Number 2 after polling was stopped due to EVM failure.

#03:11 PM: 56% voter turnout recorded till 3 PM.

#01: 20 PM: 37 per cent voter turnout in Karnataka till 1 PM.

#01:10 PM: Also Read: How Congress thinks PM Modi is influencing Karnataka polls from Nepal

#01:05 PM: Will take action: It is a sensitive polling booth & the clash between BJP and Congress workers happened within 100 meters of the booth. We will investigate and take further action: Ravi Channannavar, Bengaluru DCP

#12:50 PM: Clashes erupt between BJP and Congress workers: Clashes broke out b/w Congress & BJP workers outside a polling booth in Hampi Nagar, allegedly after the former thrashed a BJP corporator. Ravindra, Vijayanagar BJP candidate says, 'our corporator Anand was attacked but police isn't taking any action'.

#12:40 PM: As voting in Karnataka continues, CM Siddaramaiah says, 'Yeddyurappa is mentally disturbed. Congress will get more than 120 seats. I am very confident.' 


# 12:30 PM: JD(S)'s HD Deve Gowda cast his vote at polling booth no.244 in Holenarasipura town in Hassan district, says, "We expect a possibility of forming the government, we have done well." (Earlier Visuals)

# 12:20 PM: Woman stopped from entering a polling booth in Belagavi as she was reluctant to remove her 'burqa' for identification, was later allowed when a woman official identified her inside a cubicle.

# 11:50 AM: Kalaburagi: Senior Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge casts his vote in Basavanagar, polling booth no. 108.

# 11:30 AM: Congress thinks Modi in Nepal influencing Karnataka voters: As there is model code of conduct in Karnataka, PM Modi planned to pray at temples in Nepal instead, just to influence voters. This is not a good trend for democracy. Why did he only choose today as the day?: Ashok Gehlot, Congress

#11:20 AM: Yatheendra assured of Congress govt: I have been visiting villages in the constituency for last 1 & half years. Election campaigning didn't feel any different. Wherever I went, people expressed confidence in Congress govt: Dr Yatheendra, Congress candidate from Varuna constituency & son of Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah

# 11: 10 AM: Spiritual Guru Sri Sri Ravishankar casts his vote at a polling booth in Kanakapura. 

# 11:00 AM: 24 per cent voter turnout till 11 am amid reports of EVM malfunctioning at several booths.

#10:30 AM: BJP alleges EVM tampering: There are 5 booths opposite my Parent's apartment at RMV II Stage, Bengaluru. In the 2nd booth, any button pressed registers a vote ONLY to kiwi mele Kamala i.e Kamal ke phool. Angry voters are returning without casting their vote, says BJP spokesperson Brijesh Kalappa

#09:47 AM: JD(S)'s HD Deve Gowda, his wife Chennamma Deve Gowda, son HD Revanna & other family members cast their votes at polling booth no.244 in Holenarasipura town in Hassan district.

#09:30 AM: 10.6% voting till 9 am in

#09:10 AM: Karnataka Minister KJ George cast his vote in Bengaluru, he is contesting from Sarvagnanagar constituency.

#08:55 AM: PM urges people to vote to enrich festival of democracy: Urging my sisters and brothers of Karnataka to vote in large numbers today. I would particularly like to call upon young voters to vote and enrich this festival of democracy with their participation, tweets PM Modi.

#08:50 AM: BJP MP Rajeev Chandrasekhar casts his vote at Karnataka Reddyjana Sangha in Bengaluru's Koramangala.

#08:45 AM: HD Kumaraswamy seeks saints' blessing: JDS's HD Kumaraswamy meets Nirmalanandanatha Mahaswami of Sri Adichunchanagiri Mahasamsthana Math in Jayanagar.

#08:40 AM: Sriramalu braces to take on Siddaramaiah: BJP's B Sriramalu performed 'gau pooja' (cow worship) before casting his vote. He is contesting against CM Siddaramaiah from Badami constituency.

#08:30 AM: Congress seeks votes for Nava Karnataka Nirmana: It's time to cherish the spirit of Karnataka, it's time for a Nava Karnataka Nirmana. Karnataka defines progress, as Karnataka Votes For Congress.

#08:20 AM: Rahul appeals party workers to help voters reach booth: I appeal to all office bearers & workers of the Congress party in Karnataka to provide all possible assistance to those affected by the heavy rains. Our polling booth teams must remain alert and help voters facing difficulties in reaching polling booths tomorrow, Rahul tweeted.

#08:10 AM: Rains predicted in Karnataka: The IMD has predicted light drizzles in several parts of the poll-bound state.

#07:55 AM: Hubli: Faulty Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machine at booth number 108 being replaced, voting is yet to resume at the booth. 

#07:45 AM: Bengaluru: Voting for 222 seats is underway in Karnataka, visuals from booth number.172 in BTM constituency.

#07:30 AM: Voting will increase in favour of BJP: Certainly there will be an increase in voting this time. They want to remove the Siddaramaiah government from Karnataka. People will come out in large numbers: Sadananda Gowda, BJP.

#07:30 AM: BSY urges people to vote for BJP: People are fed up with the Siddaramaiah government. I urge the people to come out & vote for BJP. I assure the people of Karnataka that I'm going to give good governance: BS Yeddyurappa, BJP.

#07:25 AM: BJP Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa casts his vote in Shikarpur, Shimoga. 

#07:15 AM: Union Minister & BJP leader Sadananda Gowda casts his vote in Puttur.

#07:10 AM: People queue up at polling booth number 144 in Badami constituency. CM Siddaramaiah is contesting against BJP's B.Sriramulu from here.

#07:05 AM: Voting has begun for 222 of the 224 Karnataka Assembly.

#07:00 AM: Hello and welcome to the News Nation live updates: As Karnataka comes out to vote to elect a new government on Saturday, we will bring you all the latest news and information related to the polling. 

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Karnataka Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 12 May 2018, 07:45:56 AM