News Nation Logo


Like IPL, Karnataka MLAs will be auctioned under 'Indian Political League', says Yashwant Sinha

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Lungsanliu Gonmei | Updated on: 17 May 2018, 09:01:20 PM
Former BJP leader Yashwant Sinha (PHOTO: PTI)

New Delhi:

Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala’s decision allowing the BJP to form government in the state has led to a situation wherein MLAs will be auctioned under the “Indian Political League” the way cricketers are auctioned in the Indian Premier League (IPL), former Union minister Yashwant Sinha said on Thursday.

Sinha, former BJP leader, staged a protest outside the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Thursday against the Governor's “unconstitutional” decision, saying the move amounted to “murder of democracy”. He sat on a dharna on behalf of the Rashtriya Manch to “save democracy”.

The former man was also not impressed with the Congress and the Janata Dal-Secular approaching the Supreme Court against Vala's decision to invite the BJP to form government.

Sinha felt that it was the “weakness” of the country's political system that it failed in delivering justice in such cases.

Earlier in the day, Sinha took to Twitter and wrote that the developments in Karnataka were “rehearsal” of what would happen in Delhi after the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

“The BJP is eight MLAs short of majority. Now from where will it get the requisite numbers (to prove majority)? The numbers will be managed after some MLAs will defect from other parties,” Sinha tweeted.

 “The Governor has done exactly opposite of what is expected from him under the Constitution. Like there is Indian Premier League in cricket, the Governor's decision has led to Indian Political League in which MLAs will be is murder of democracy,” Sinha added.

Attacking Vala, who was a BJP leader, Sinha said democracy would not work if governors start acting as “soldiers of parties”.

“I am glad I have left the party which is so brazenly trying to subvert democracy in Karnataka. It will do the same if it fails to get majority in the Lok Sabha election next year. Please note my warning,” he tweeted.

BJP legislature party leader B S Yeddyurappa was today sworn in as the chief minister of Karnataka, after an overnight high-voltage legal battle in the Supreme Court.  The 75-year-old Lingayat strongman was administered the oath of office and secrecy by the governor at a ceremony at Raj Bhavan amid loud cheering by his supporters.

The BJP emerged as the single largest party in the recently held Karnataka Assembly elections winning 104 seats, but is short of a simple majority.

The Congress and JD(S), which announced a post-poll tie-up, won 78 and 37 seats respectively and claimed before Vala to have numbers to form government in the state. The governor has given the BJP 15 days' time to prove its majority.

(With inputs from agencies)

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Karnataka Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 17 May 2018, 09:00:20 PM